Sweet Spicy Peppers

I had a bit over a half pound of Hungarian Black chile peppers lounging about awaiting a use, so I decided to try a candied jalapeno recipe.  Just thinking about the sweet-hot-tart flavor made me drool.  I found a recipe for candied jalapenos aka cowboy candy, and today, picked up enough peppers at the farmers’ market to make up the amount needed.

I had enough for 10 half-pint jars with none left over for sampling, boo, so I’m going to have to wait for 2 weeks to give them a try.  They sure do look purty, though!

I’m always careful with un-approved (NCHFP or Ball, etc.), but I compared this one to several approved recipes, and considerng the syrup made of vinegar and sugar, I decided it was safe.  Try it at your own risk!

6 Responses to “Sweet Spicy Peppers”

  1. Sara Says:

    Ooh so pretty with the red and green. I happen to have a huge tub of hot peppers….hmm :)

  2. meemsnyc Says:

    Ooooh, this sounds awesome! I love peppers!

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    Those sound really delicious. I love spicy sweet things.

  4. Robin Says:

    :O WOW. I have never heard of candied peppers before. I so want to try this now!

  5. Robin Says:

    Okay, I really couldn’t help myself. Today I went and made the cowboy candy. My mom had a lot of jalapeños from her garden that needed to be used and when she found out I had a recipe I was going make she gave them to me. :D Of course I am going to give some of it back to her in the jar form and my dad is going to be groaning. Eating mustard and ketchup makes him break out in a sweat.

  6. Preserving in sucrose » Farm Folly Says:

    […] was reading a post about sweet and spicy peppers over at Henbogle last week and she got really excited. I must say I was rather skeptical of the […]

Comments are closed.


