Freezer cleanout: Pumpkin deliciousness

We cleaned out and defrosted the freezer when we had to move it to install the new laundry room floor, and I realized then we had a lot of roasted squash and pumpkin left, so I’ve been working on using it all up.  One of my students is coming to lunch today, and the plan calls for a nice Mexican themed meal to ward off the chill and use up some squash and other veggies.  The menu:

Roasted Corn and Jalapeno Guacamole (a riff on a recipe from Lourdes Castro’s Simply Mexican)
Smoky Tortilla Soup with Shrimp (subbing yellow crookneck squash for celery, and adding some peppers)
Chile Cheddar Pumpkin Souffles
Pumpkin Corn Bread

On a whim, I decided to try adding pumpkin to my favorite corn bread recipe from Great Breads by Martha Rose Shulman’s Texas Cornbread recipe.  The results:  fabulous.  I posted the recipe on Yankee Pantry.

9 Responses to “Freezer cleanout: Pumpkin deliciousness”

  1. Robin Says:

    Yum, the pumpkin souffles and pumpkin corn bread sound delicious. I will have to try them. Last year, I made pumpkin jam. It was absolutely wonderful! It takes a couple of days…but well worth it!

  2. julie Says:

    I too will be checking out the recipe for pumpkin corn bread, sounds delicious!

    • Ali Says:

      Julie, I am not surprised that you will be trying this recipe with your love of pumpkins! Try the souffle’s, too, they are sort of custard like in texture, and could easily be made less or more spicy.

  3. Robin Says:

    Yes, it is like apple butter….but, much better. We serve different jellies and jams with cheeses for appetizers. This was a favorite last year. Here is the recipe

    http://www.ehow.com/how_4533486_make-pumpkin-jam.html

    I made a double batch and it yielded only (5) half pints. This year I am going to make more

  4. O. Says:

    I so love that tortilla soup! Need to get it on the menu here soon. . .

  5. Sara Says:

    It all sound lovely. I’m so in the mood for fall foods, but am trying to enjoy and use up some of my leftover summer stuff before breaking out the winter squash. I almost have all the makings of that tortilla soup though… Hm :)

  6. villager Says:

    The pumpkin corn bread recipe looks good. I have a square cast iron pan that I only use for corn bread. I have lots of butternut squash to use up!

    • Ali Says:

      DOH! I too have a square one, but save it for bacon or grilled sandwiches. It would be perfect for cornbread, but I’ve always used my round pan, so never thought of the square one hanging right next to it!

Comments are closed.


