Apple pie tasting

After all that hard work in the garden yesterday, Ellen and I decided we needed some pie.  We stopped by my local orchard, Pleasant Pond Orchard, where Mary, one of the owners, gave me another idea — a pie tasting party, featuring many single-variety pies.  As it was too complicated a plan for that night, Ellen and I and picked up a variety of apples so that as we made the pie, we could taste many different apples.

The range of flavors was amazing.  I have to say, I still likes me a good old-fashioned Northern Spy or Cox’s Orange Pippin, but the results of the mixed-variety pie was delicious.  We used the aforementioned Spy and Pippin, and Pumpkin Sweet, Spencer, Golden Spy, Winesap, and Connell Red.

I put Ellen to work cranking the apple peeler, and because she was so helpful, gave her a few of my top secret pie-making tips.  She repaid me by rolling out the crust and decorating the pie with cookie-cutter stars.  We all enjoyed the pie for dinner, and I sent Ellen home with half of the remaining pie and some garden vegetables.

Darn Mary for mentioning that pie-tasting party, because I think it sounds like a LOT of fun, so beware, friends and neighbors, I may be calling on you for help.

5 Responses to “Apple pie tasting”

  1. julie Says:

    Ali, the pie looks delicious…. I can smell the sweet fragrance of apple in the air as I type. BTW who’s the helper sitting on the windowsill.

    • Ali Says:

      Julie, the helper is Mercedes, the senior cat, down from her secret lair above the refrigerator.

  2. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    What a beautiful pie! The pie-tasting party sounds like a grand idea, one I’ll be keeping in mind.

  3. kate@livingthefrugallife Says:

    Now THERE’S an idea. I may have to implement that one sometime soon…

    Thanks!

  4. Daphne Gould Says:

    I can smell the pie from here. Hmm I just got apples from the farmers market. I wonder if I should make pie.

Comments are closed.


