When life gives you pine cabinets

take them home!

Mom, this post is for you! xoxo

A few weeks ago, we were on the way home from grocery shopping when we saw a tag sale sign, so of course we stopped.  Fortunately we had the truck, because we found two nice pine cabinets for $35. They were designed to be a/v cabinets.  We are using one as a stereo cabinet, and one fits in this squirrely little space in our bathroom.  We’ve been wanting a linen cabinet that would fit there for ages, and we had finally given up.  Someday I hope the vent stack will be moved, but until we are ready to gut this bathroom, I am trying to ignore the ugliness.

Last weekend, we stumbled upon a little antique shop that was closing, and we found this fabulous old cupboard, which had been rescued from an old sugar shack, marked down.  It was love at first sight for me.  I instantly could see this cupboard filled with jar upon jar of home canned goods and less frequently used kitchenware.  I can hardly wait to get it situated and filled with goodies.

 

PS:  If any of my knowledgeable readers have suggestions for preserving the paint, which is crazed and chipping in some areas, I’d love to hear them!

11 Responses to “When life gives you pine cabinets”

  1. Robin Says:

    What great finds! I really like the old cupboard. It is perfect for canned goods. I have an old cupboard from a store that I put my canned goods in. It just seems like they belong in something like that.

  2. meemsnyc Says:

    What fabulous finds! That antique is going to look wonderful filled with canned goodness.

  3. anna Says:

    That old cupboard is really neat. I can’t be positive, but i think furniture wax would help save the paint. I know a lot of people apply it over milkpaint to make it more durable.

  4. Toni Parker Says:

    Hi Ali! Found you from meemsnyc’s blog!

    Wow… what great finds!!! Love the cabinet from the antique store!

  5. Kim Says:

    Lovely finds. That is great you guys missed the frost last weekend. I have really enjoyed reading about the $ tracking of this years garden!

  6. Cathy Says:

    I love the color I have blue kitchen cabinets and that is just beautiful. I wouldn’t worry about preserving it. that is what makes is beautiful all the little chips.
    cathy

  7. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    Only one word to say….Wow!

  8. jeannie Says:

    Great finds you two ~:) And I do have a suggestion on pressurving. the paint. Use Laquer. Eggshell or something duller than that. It will help save the paint that is already there and will help keep it good for a long time.(less chances of more paint chips)It may also tint with age, and I mean alot of age, which would also enhance the look of antiqueing. Or use wood pressurvering stain from out of doors, you know the kind you use on the decks and porches. But I’m parchell to the laquer.

  9. Sara Says:

    Super cute finds! I love the blue one but all of them seem to fit your house well.

  10. Jasmeen Says:

    Perhaps you can use polyurethane or Safecoat Acrylacq.

  11. julie Says:

    Ali, How I wish I had noticed you and Dan at the train station, I certainly would have come up and introduced myself. You scored big time with the two pine cabinets, but hit the jackpot with the old blue cupboard. I love it! I use Briwax on my milk painted furniture, It gives the furniture a primitive look. Years ago when my sons were small I started collecting and making pine furiture. If the wood got gouged or scratched I’d rub some Briwax on it and it looked good as new! (I buy it at my local small hardware store) I am a fan of crooked floors, plastered walls,hooked rugs, anything old. As soon as I finish the Doc Pritham book I would be happy to send it your way! Just let me know.

Comments are closed.


