Growing garlic

 

In my rambles tonight I came across this great article on growing garlic from Growing for Market, an online journal.  I hope to get my garlic planted soon, but we’ve got a big rainstorm headed our way tomorrow, so it might be too wet this weekend.

4 Responses to “Growing garlic”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    I just grew garlic. I followed Daphnes Dandelions tips on growing garlic. I’m excited to see what happens next year.

    http://nycgardening.blogspot.com/2010/10/planting-garlic-in-raised-beds.html

  2. Sara Says:

    Good article, thanks. I’d like to get some rain first we’re having the opposite problem–after a wet summer we’re now a very dry fall and our grown is suddenly really hard for digging. I always think I plant a little late, but that 2 or so weeks after frost sounds about right. That’s how long it takes for me to clean up and feed my beds and decide where to put them, ha.

    I plant pretty intensively–about four to six inches in all directions–and still get good yields (and this year especially large heads). My M.O. is to do about 100 cloves in 3 x 6 foot beds (or most of a 4 x 8 bed) and that’s about perfect for the two of us for a year–with enough to plant too.

  3. kitsapFG Says:

    Just planted the garlic last Monday. I had a great year for my elephant garlic in 2010 but a pretty less than spectacular year for the softneck garlic. I decided to change it up for 2011 and replace the softneck variety with a hardneck variety that I think may do better in my growing region.

  4. villager Says:

    That is a great article on growing garlic! I’ll plant ours in late October-early November. I’ve got two 4’x8′ beds all ready to plant.

Comments are closed.


