The cupboard is full (almost)

Saturday, I bribed our friend Karen with lunch and she came over and helped Dan and I move the cabinet into the dining room.  Man, that thing is heavy!  (And to think, at first I’d been disappointed that the cabinet was backless –not anymore!)

Dan and Karen decided we needed something to the left of the closet, so Dan found this cute little corner stand I’d purchased at some point in a yard sale, and added my old porcelain pitcher and Dan’s big crock. We need to paint the corner table.  I’m thinking a deep salmon or the taupe of the sewing room floor.  Any suggestions?

Then, while Dan and I leveled it, Karen cooked lunch (see how clever I am! Pan grilled chicken with lemon, garlic, rosemary and smoked sea salt on baguettes with roasted red peppers, lettuce and avocado. YUM YUM YUM!)

After our delicious lunch (thanks Karen!), Karen headed home and Dan and I loaded the new cupboard with my home-canned goodies and extra pots and kitchen gear I had been storing in the laundry room closet.   I am so happy to have the canned goods and cooking equipment a bit closer to the kitchen, and even happier to be able to store my home canned goodies somewhere other then next to the vacuum cleaner!  Truth be told, we can use that space as in this old house, like most old houses,  closets are rare.

The cabinet looks great in the dining room.  I can’t believe we found a cabinet in a color already in our color palette.  I’d say the teal is close to an exact match for the sewing room.   How cool is that!

Here’s an old photo of the dining room.  I looks pretty much the same.  We are slowly collecting pressed-back chairs, and eventually I hope we will have 8-10 which we will then paint in historic shades such as the teal.

3 Responses to “The cupboard is full (almost)”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    Ooooh, look at all those canned goodies. That looks amazing. I love the new cabinet, it’s nice to have room near the kitchen to store things. Your lunch sounds awesome.

  2. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    Someone who will help you move a heavy object and then make lunch for you? Now, that’s a good friend!

  3. karen Says:

    Ali and Dan are great friends and are always there when I need something moved or whatever………and let me tell you all that I have been well fed by them aplenty in their warm home.

Comments are closed.


