Garlic planted

I got my garlic planted today.  We had our first hard freeze just last week, so the soil temperature was just about right for planting, about 50°F.  I moved the garlic to the former squash area, well out of the reach of hungry hens.  We pulled the squash plants last week, so today I pulled up the IRT mulch which meant there were virtually no weeds.  Then I placed the boards seen in the photo against the fence to deter erosion this winter, dug  in some compost, added some Plant Tone fertilizer, planted the garlic and covered the bed with a good layer of mulch.  I used a combination of spoiled hay and leaves chopped with the mower.

I had set aside the biggest heads from my harvest to use for this years’ seed garlic.  Some of the heads were HUGE.  Unfortunately, I did not harvest some of the garlic early enough.  You can see where the individual cloves were starting to separate in several of the cloves, and one head had several cloves which were beginning to sprout.

I pulled the cloves apart gently to avoid damaging the basal plate area, where the roots will emerge.  I looked over each clove carefully to make sure it was undamaged, and did not show any evidence of disease.  Unfortunately, but typically, I lost track of what variety was what, but I know that last year I planted Chesnok Red, Music and German Extra Hardy.

I have no idea which heads were the Music and German Extra Hardy, but I can guess at the Chesnok Reds, which is in the purple stripe family of garlic.  The Reds were planted in the snack zone, and with one exception, those heads were significantly smaller than the Music and German Extra Hardy.  I planted every clove from the one good Chesnok Red, and the best cloves from the biggest 5 heads of the other garlic, about 30 in all.  Now I wish I’d planted another 20 so I will do that later this week.  What was I thinking?

I still have some of the bulbils which grew from the garlic scapes on some of the garlic this summer.  Although being so small, they are a pain to peel, I’ve been using a few here and there.  The flavor is a bit sweeter and milder than a the full sized cloves, but the bulbils are perfect for when you want just a smidge of garlic flavor.  I have read in several places that the bulbils can be planted to grow garlic scallions, so I think I will plant some in the hoop house.  I will also transplant some chives into the hoophouse in hopes of some early fresh chives in the spring.

 

After planting all the seed cloves, I covered the bed with soil, added another light sprinkling of compost followed by mulch, then put flakes of spoiled hay against the edges of the beds to deter erosion, and added a bit of low wire fencing to hold the mulch in place. It looks all tidy and ready for the winter.  If only the rest of the gardens looked as ready.

 

4 Responses to “Garlic planted”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    When you plant your cloves of garlic do you peel them, or do you leave the skin on?

  2. kate@livingthefrugallife Says:

    I’m in the middle of planting my garlic, now on my lunch break. Somehow I ended up ordering/saving more than 200 cloves of garlic to plant. And that’s with the small cloves from those heads rejected as too small. Might have to start a garlic CSA next year. Planted 127 so far; a little less than half to go. Hope the rain holds off till I’m done.

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    I’ve got to plant garlic soon. I was going to do it today, but now they say it will rain all day long. Ah well. Maybe Friday.

  4. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    I got my 10×10 plot in yesterday as it was getting almost too dark to see. Tomorrow the straw mulch goes on.

Comments are closed.


