Harvest Tuesday: Chard

A plunge into chilly, more normal temperatures prompted a big harvest of chard last week.  After a warmer than normal fall, the temps dropped so Dan came home from school one afternoon and cut back all the remaining chard, probably over 6 lbs. of a mix of Argentata and Bright Lights.  Some leaves had seen better days, so my hens have been enjoying lots of chard, but we still managed to blanch and freeze 3.5 lbs. for use in soups over the winter, yum.

Herbs 6 oz.
Arugula 6 oz.
Leeks 11 oz.
Chard 56 oz.
Lettuce 11 oz.
Squash 57 oz.

The total weight for the past 2 weeks: 9.2 lbs.  This small total brings my total to  591 lbs. harvested from the garden this year.  The value of my harvests throughout the season stands at $2,020.40, my expenses remained the same at $317.54 for the year, bringing the net value to $1,702.86. Total pounds grown this summer.

On Sunday, I roasted the second of my three Futsu Black squashes.  For comparison, I purchased at the farmer’s market a Sunshine kabocha squash and cooked that at the same time, thinking about next year’s squash choice.  It was an interesting experiment.  The Sunshine was a moister squash, and cooked much faster than the Futsu Black, in about half the time.  Even after roasting, the flesh remained fairly moist and very smooth.  Dan was not impressed, saying it was earthy and had a stronger flavor.  I thought it was ok, but prefer a drier squash.  This Futsu Black was definitely tastier than the first one I tried a couple of weeks ago.  The Futsu Black is a moschata variety, and the Sunshine a maxima.  It could be that each squash would taste better if they had been in storage longer, so I will pick up another Sunshine and store it with my remaining Futsu Black in a cool bedroom and conduct the final taste-off again after the holidays.  My next squash trial will be a butternut and a Winter Luxury pumpkin.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series on her blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.  Amazingly, there are still gardeners harvesting from their gardens, so I suggest you head over to check out the harvests and shake your head in astonishment.

5 Responses to “Harvest Tuesday: Chard”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    Chard! I have to grow that next year! Your harvest total so far is amazing!

  2. Daphne Gould Says:

    I keep hoping that I have enough frozen chard to last the winter. I love to eat it every week.

  3. kate@livingthefrugallife Says:

    We still have chard hanging on out there too. I may have to knuckle down and get it all in this week. Might be time for a dish my husband loves – egg and chard curry. It’s a good recipe for when you bring in 5 pounds or so of chard all at once.

  4. Kim Says:

    We are still harvesting from the hoophouse…spinach, lettuce, leeks, beet greens, turnip & carrots. I think that is the most of it. Next year we will have a wood stove in it that we will run on occassions.

  5. Kim Says:

    Unbelivable how much you harvested….wish I had the patience to track as you did!

Comments are closed.


