Harvest Monday: pizza pickings

This weekend we enjoyed an unseasonably mild November, it was great.  Lots of sun after a rather long string of gray rainy days brightened everyone’s spirits, and made for some good eating from the garden.  I am oh so close to harvesting 600 lbs. from my garden, but I did not get around to weighing the squash and pumpkins in storage so my total remains in the upper 500s.

We had a delicious feast of roasted beet and goat cheese salad made with hoophouse lettuce and greens, and assorted pizzas featuring garden produce — potato pesto, caramelized leek and goat cheese, caramelized leek with goat cheese and bacon, pesto with ricotta and parsley.  We didn’t even get to the planned sun-dried tomato pesto with arugula, but we will this week as I still have some dough in the fridge,  yum.

Another treat this week was a potato and white bean soup with arugula.  It featured yummy potatoes, lots of garlic, hot pepper flakes and arugula.  When I make it again, and I will, I’ll make it a bit thinner and add some Italian sausage and parsley.

Herbs 8 oz.
Kale 12 oz.
Arugula 13 oz.
Leeks 12 oz.
Lettuce 16 oz.

The total weight for the past week: 3.8 lbs.  This small total brings my total to  595 lbs. harvested from the garden this year.  The value of my harvests throughout the season stands at $2,039.69, my expenses remained the same at $317.54 for the year, bringing the net value to $1,722.15.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series on her fabulous blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.  Check out her amazing new garden and read harvest reports from gardeners across the land.

9 Responses to “Harvest Monday: pizza pickings”

  1. Robin Says:

    Your pizza combos sound delicious! I think that you should estimate the weight of your squash and pumpkins then add them to your total!

  2. kate@livingthefrugallife Says:

    I agree; the ‘zzas sound great. We’re having a mild fall here too, after a couple of properly cold weeks at the end of October/beginning of November. The garden is struggling valiantly to carry on, but the cold is slowly winning the war of attrition. Still, the arugula out there would be great on a pizza, now that I think of it…

  3. kitsapFG Says:

    The pizzas sound heavenly and so does the soup. We have been enjoying more soups lately ourselves. Something very satisfying about them during the cold dark days of late fall and winter. The beets look like they grew nicely for you. I passed on growing them this year as we only eat small amounts of them and I wanted to make room for another crop this year. I am missing them this fall though, so I am going to find room for them in the 2011 garden.

  4. Madame C Says:

    Oh! Those pizzas sounds amazing!!! Recipes, please!:)
    Have a great week,
    Charlotta

  5. Barbie Says:

    mmmMMMmmmm Homemade pizza- I’m coming to your house for dinner!

  6. villager Says:

    Those pizzas are making my drool on the keyboard!

  7. Daphne Gould Says:

    I had homemade pizza too this week, but I just did cheese. At least the sauce was from the garden. It looks like you have a great harvest this week. You need to weigh those squash so you can break 600lbs.

  8. Sara Says:

    Small world… we ate very similar meals this week–tis the season I guess! We had the roasted beet/goat cheese salad (twice, actually), and one of our ‘zas had butternut squash and sage. :) My favorite lately has been just thinly sliced potatoes tossed with olive oil and thyme layered on the crust (no sauce) and then grating parm on top after it comes out of the oven.

    The soup sounds good too, I’ve been wanting to try a bean/kale combo soon.

  9. Veggie PAK Says:

    Congrats on the harvest total!

Comments are closed.


