Henbogle pizza

We love pizza, and I make it often at Henbogle.  After lots of taste tests :-) I finally found a dough recipe I really like, but I am fortunate that I can also purchase excellent dough from the Portland Pie Company at a local grocery store.

I sometimes make a red sauce, but often opt a white pizza and toppings.  Some of my favorites include:

Marinated artichoke with sun-dried tomatoes and fontina
Parmesan, garlic, pesto and potato (thanks Karen!)
Caramalized leeks with goat cheese
Red pepper & garlic seasoned olive oil, ricotta and spinach or chard
Red pepper & garlic seasoned olive oil, spinach and feta and/or sun-dried tomatoes or roasted red peppers
Red pepper & garlic seasoned olive oil, roasted, marinated red peppers, feta and black pepper topped with arugula salad*
Bacon, cheddar cheese, sliced boiled potatoes, and chives
Sun-dried tomato pesto with parmesan cheese and arugula salad (arugula dressed with lemon and olive oil)*
Veggie special (whatever’s available from the garden)

*The arugula gets tossed on the pizza immediately upon removal from the oven, where it gently wilts.

I don’t have recipes for these pizzas, but they are easy enough to figure out.  My strategy is to bake them in a very hot oven on quarry tiles.
Ideas for future pizzas:

Fig, arugula and gorgonzola
Sliced and steamed butternut squash with caramelized onion and Gruyère
Roasted, mashed butternut squash, caramelized onions, gorgonzola and crispy fried sage
Roasted beets, roasted garlic, blue cheese and caramelized onions
Pear, prosciutto, Gorgonzola pizza sprinkled with chopped walnuts  & honey
Chorizo and pineapple
Smoked trout and Meyer lemon pizza (gotta get a new Meyer lemon as I killed tree # 2 this summer)

I had a late night at work tonight, but tomorrow I’m determined to try a kale recipe.  Look for more info later.  In the meantime, share a favorite pizza, please!

6 Responses to “Henbogle pizza”

  1. kate@livingthefrugallife Says:

    Favorite pizza toppings include olive oil in which I’ve gently sauteed garlic chunks with hot pepper flakes, the said garlic chunks and pepper flakes, very thinly sliced guancuale or lardo, fresh cherry tomatoes in season, sage (believe it or not, I like it better than basil or oregano – which are also both good), smoked mozzarella or some other smoked cheese, and arugula sylvetta tossed on the ‘zza just as it comes from the hot oven. It’s no good putting the arugula through the oven; it just shrivels up. Placed on a piping hot pizza it wilts nicely. Oh, and the guanciale or lardo has to go on top of all the other ingredients, otherwise it doesn’t get melty-crispy, just stays chewy-flabby. I sometimes use pesto or tomato sauce, but also often opt, as you do, for “white” pizza.

  2. Ali Says:

    Thanks for the ideas, Kate! Everything sounds delicious. I could seriously eat pizza every day and never tire of it…. BTW, you guancale experiment led to me asking for my half pig to include the jowls, smoked by the excellent butcher, but that’s a place to start, eh?

  3. Veggie PAK Says:

    Those pizzas look delicious! Love pizza at our house. We’ll have to make/try some recipes as well.

  4. O. Says:

    Favorite pizzas include:
    Any pizza from the Henbogle or Small Blue ovens :)
    red pizza with asparagus, ham (or bacon or pepperoni) and cheese

    O.

  5. Daphne Gould Says:

    I always love roasted red peppers, mushrooms, and caramelized onions

  6. GrafixMuse Says:

    We love pizza too and agree that Portland Pie pizza dough is a great substitute for home made. Oh, the variety of combos you can use for pizza topping! Making me very hungry :)

Comments are closed.


