Ahhh home again

Dan and I traveled to the Catskill region of New York to spend Thanksgiving Day with mom.  If only we didn’t have to drive past Boston it wouldn’t be a bad trip, but we spent over an hour creeping along Rte 495 on the way to mom’s, ugh. Once on the Mass Pike the driving went relatively quickly.

Once there, we relaxed until I realized I had forgotten the pie crust I made ahead.  Dang!  A quick trip to the grocery store ensued Wednesday morning, and I made crust enough for an Apple and a Maple Pumpkin Pecan Pie, using pumpkin from the big taste test.  On Thursday,  I cooked us a nice turkey dinner, (the gravy came out really well) and some pumpkin rolls.  Yep, I had a lot of pumpkin.  And more to come!  I also gave mom 2 butternut squashes from the garden.

It was a flying visit, as we are still putting the garden to bed and preparing for winter here at Henbogle, and none to soon, as we discovered we’d had our first snow of the season while we were away.

The rest of the weekend was spent participating in Small Business Saturday beginning with a bagel at our favorite bagel place, Mr. Bagel, then a little shopping and then home to work.  Once home, we added some weatherstripping to the recently re-installed front storm door, patched the garden shed roof, cleaning Henbogle Coop, mulched the garden, did laundry, and I made some delicious cream of broccoli and vegetable beef soups.  At least I have lunches planned for the week ahead.  Sigh.  Tomorrow is back to work, no rest for the wicked here at Henbogle.  I hope everyone enjoyed a Happy Thanksgiving holiday!

One Response to “Ahhh home again”

  1. jeannie Says:

    It sounds like you all had a good time this Thanksgiving. Buddy and I spent it the same way we did last year. The old fashion way where the community comes to gather for a feast. The owner to the campgrounds where we stay provided the turkey, and the rest was provided by everyone else who goes to dinner. This year I made sure I had enough Brusselsprouts for sprouts and cheese bake. Yum Yum.

Comments are closed.


