Unwelcome harvest Monday

I have been enjoying looking at Daphne’s Harvest Monday posts, since all I’ve harvested lately are cold and flu viruses, boo hoo.  In the garden, there are still some leeks in the ground, and some greens in the hoophouse.  Maybe next week I’ll have something to share.  In the meantime, I’m working on eating from the freezer and pantry to make room for next years veggies.

The seed catalogs are rolling in which offers some consolation.  Fedco, Pinetree Garden Seeds, Totally Tomatoes, Vermont Bean, and more.  Even though I don’t order from the all, every catalog gets at least one look-see.  Time to be making my list, and checking it twice.

Oh, and if you haven’t had a flu shot, you might want to consider it, I found the flu to be very unpleasant.

12 Responses to “Unwelcome harvest Monday”

  1. Robin Says:

    I hope that you feel better soon. Take care and get some rest.

  2. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    Hope you are soon up and about. For the first time, I had a flu shot this year because, yes, the flu is very unpleasant. I found that out last year and didn’t want to replicate the experience.

  3. Sara Says:

    Hope you’re on the mend soon. Nice to have food tucked away and good reading materials when you’re not feeling well, though :)

  4. Bellen Says:

    Hope you feel better soon. Totally Tomatoes has their mailing office not far from us. For those of you with limited space the MicroTom tomatoes are wonderful for containers – their recommendation and they were absolutely right. We had 5 in a 12″ diameter pot. They were spent so losing them to the frost last night was OK. We’ll start seeds indoors and replant in a few weeks.

    And yes, it does frost in SW FL – really is a bummer for us Rounders (those of us who live here full time) but the tourists and snowbirds are walking the beach saying it’s wonderful:)

    • Ali Says:

      So sorry to hear about the Florida weather, I am sure a lot of growers will be hurt. The report I heard said the citrus would be ok, I hope that’s the case.

  5. kate@livingthefrugallife Says:

    We still have leeks in the garden too though not much else. I’d been eager to be free of the menu tyranny of the garden, but now of course I miss all the fresh veg. And it’s only December! Hope you feel better soon. Can’t think of any better consolation than a pile of seed catalogs.

  6. Ali Says:

    Thanks for all the well wishes! I am on the mend, and am hoping I’m done with cold and flu season!

  7. Daphne Gould Says:

    Get better soon. My doctor made me get my flu shot. I have asthma and getting the flu is dangerous so I try to avoid it. It mostly works. Which is good since I’m on public transportation all the time.

  8. mangocheeks Says:

    Wishing you warm wishes from a Snowy Scotland. Get well.

  9. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    And don’t forget Johnny’s catalog which came within the last two weeks. I preferred it when the seed catalogs came after New Years so they don’t get mixed up in the onslaught of Christmas catalogs.

    • Ali Says:

      I’m with you, Jennifer, as I’d forgotten all about the Johnny’s catalog and it is probably in the recycling now as I don’t see it :-(

  10. Leigh Says:

    Ali I am so sorry you’re ill. The flu is never fun. I would say extra vitamin D, echinacea, elderberry, and garlic! (if you’re in to that sort of thing) :)

Comments are closed.


