2011 Seed Order

I panicked last night when I looked at the Johnny’s Selected Seeds website and saw the Graffiti cauliflower was sold out, and the Cheddar was $10.95 for a packet of 30 seeds. Yes, I said $10.95.  That’s $.38/seed including tax.  Holy cow. I am glad I have some left over from last year, ’cause I would not be ordering any.

Anyway, seeing the price of the Cheddar and the sold out Graffiti motivated me to get my seed orders together.  Thus far:

Fedco Seeds

Cascadia Snap Pea
Costata Romanesca Zucchini
De Morges Braun Lettuce
Buttercrunch Lettuce
Sylvetta Arugula
Piracicaba Broccoli
Snow Crown Cauliflower
Graffiti Cauliflower
Violet Queen Cauliflower
Rainbow Lacinato Kale
Czech Black Hot Pepper
Early Jalapeno Hot Pepper
Juliet Tomato
Empress of India Nasturtium
Whirlybird 7-Color Blend Nasturtium
Sunflower Sampler
Goldfinger Mexican Sunflower
Purple Top Verbena
Benarys Giants Mix Coated Zinnia
Cactus Bright Jewel Mix Zinnia

Rene’s Garden

Peppers, Chile, Southwestern Trio
Peppers, Habanero, Suave
Pepper, Baby Belle
Cucumber, Baby Persian
Tomato, Italian Pompeii
Celery, Amsterdam Seasoning
Sage, Italian Aromatic

I so love those candied jalapeno that I decided I need to grow more chile peppers next year.  I was especially intrigued by the description of the fruity flavor of a mild Habanero that I decided I needed to try some of them, and I also wanted to grow some Anaheim peppers for freezing.  I found some nice chile seed mixes at Rene’s Garden.  I also thought it would be fun to try some of those spendy mini cucumbers I see in the grocery stores these days.  Since I was ordering, I might as well make the postage worth while and I threw in a new paste tomato, some Italian culinary sage and cutting celery to see if I could bump the flavors around here.

I need to get bush beans, carrots, Italian parsley, cilantro and I’m thinking of trying a new squash variety introduced by Johnny’s, Confection, which Leslie Land has raved about in a helpful squash mystery decoder post on her blog.  Fortunately, I can just pop over to Johnny’s retail store some day at lunch.

I am actually torn about seed ordering, because I had decided I was going to use up some seed packets and take better variety notes this year.  But then I volunteered to help organize a seed swap in February, and thought, well, having some extra seed to swap would be good.  Right?

Soon, I hope, I’ll have my bad notes together on what I liked/did not like for varieties this past year.  In the meantime, if anyone has suggestions for round podded green, wax and purple beans, I’m all ears.  I must have plenty for Henbogle dilly beans!

5 Responses to “2011 Seed Order”

  1. Emily Says:

    I put my Fedco order in before Christmas to my local coop which does a bulk order. Now when I look at the flood of catalogs that have come, I’m not finding anything that I need. It’s good to limit myself to just one order :)

  2. meemsnyc Says:

    Wow, what a great seed order! I have to still put mine together!

  3. Karen Anne Says:

    I can’t imagine paying $10 for a packet of seeds. When I see stuff like that nowadays, I just pass it by.

  4. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    You’ve probably already mentioned this in previous posts, but how much land do you garden on? And, could you tell me again how many pounds of food you harvested in 2010?

    Thanks!

    • Ali Says:

      Hi Laurie,
      Our yard is a bit less than 3/4 of an acre, and the vegetable garden is about 630 square feet (that does not include the blueberries or blackberries).

      This year, I grew about 620 lbs. of vegetables so far, I probably have 25-35 more pounds of squash and pumpkin as yet unweighed, and still have leeks in the garden.
      Ali

Comments are closed.


