DIY metal hoophouse

Johnny’s Selected Seeds has a new metal “Quick Hoops” jig to bend 1 1/3″ chain link fencing into hoops for a sturdy and long-lasting hoophouse.  They also have a spreadsheet calculator to help you estimate the cost which includes a list of all the needed parts.  They also sell greenhouse cover at a very reasonable price.  I just love Johnny’s, although I’m wondering if they are enabling my habit.  Is this a healthy relationship?  Our extension service purchased a smaller Quick Hoops jig to loan out, I think I’m going to ask if they will get this new one, too.

4 Responses to “DIY metal hoophouse”

  1. kate@livingthefrugallife Says:

    I saw those! I love the idea of getting the Extension service to buy them for loaning. Here I’ve been racking my brain trying to figure out who among my friends would want to split the cost of one of these. I may have to call up the folks I know at our office today. Great suggestion.

  2. Daphne Gould Says:

    That is really cool of your extension service. I keep thinking we need a smaller one here in eastern mass that gets loaned out. Sadly our ES is in the middle of the state and even if they did that I wouldn’t drive that far to get it.

  3. meemsnyc Says:

    Oooh, that is awesome! I want a hoophouse!

  4. kathi dunphy Says:

    Johnny’s has a really good tutorial on how to bend the pipes and put the high tunnel greenhouse together. I was asking questions over the phone about the feasibility of an ol girl like me going this route and the woman said “here, we’ll email you the tutorial to help you decide.” A couple weeks later we had all the parts and pieces landed in the barn. I can do some of the preliminary work over the winter, cutting and drilling the anchor posts and making the measuring templates. Cant wait for spring thaw!
    kathi in NB, Canada

Comments are closed.


