Freezing Harvest Monday

awaiting snow removal

The hoop house is not producing right now, merely overwintering greens for early spring harvests.  Despite reaching respectable daytime temps in the 50s – 60s some sunny days, the cold nights and scant sunshine are preventing much growth.  Nonetheless, I have not let the chilly temps deter me from my harvests.  Saturday evening I had some friends come to dinner and served a butternut squash soup.  Yes, I am still eating from the garden.  This harvest, plus the unreported one (oops) a couple of weeks ago amounted to 9.94 lbs of squash and New England Pie pumpkin.  This brings the garden harvest total to 625 lbs. for the 2010 growing season.  The value of my harvests stands at $2,083.70, my expenses remained the same at $317.54 for the year, bringing the net value to $1,766.16.

The big news, however, was that we roasted and devoured the last Futsu Black squash.  Holy moschata, was it amazingly good.  Dan and I ate the entire thing for dinner and looked around for more.  I was debating about growing this squash again due to the relatively long season required (105 days), but it is so yummy that I am going to try again.  I have also decided, based on Leslie Land’s enthusiastic recommendation, to try Confection from Johnny’s Selected seeds, (a sprinter to the finish at 95 days).  But more on new choices in the garden next post.

I’ve been posting infrequently as the winter doldrums overtake me, but I have several new projects going, one involving concrete remesh, and my most exciting project, a mini-makeover of the Henbogle kitchen!  I’ve long despised the double bowl sink in my kitchen, which is too small to submerge a large baking sheet or a turkey roaster, so Dan and I will be swapping out the sink, resurfacing our countertops, and adding some better lighting.  Keep your eyes peeled for kitchen updates!

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series, where gardeners gather virtually to share the harvest.  Check it out, you’ll be amazed to see what intrepid gardeners are harvesting and/or eating from their gardens at this chilly time of year.

14 Responses to “Freezing Harvest Monday”

  1. Robin Says:

    Oh, the mini-makeover of the kitchen will definitely help the winter doldrums!! Can’t wait to see it!

  2. Susanna Says:

    Can’t wait to see the mini-makeover. Good job staying positive through the winter months, Alice. I miss you SOOO much.

  3. Michelle Says:

    The concrete remesh is handy stuff, I’ve been using my tomato cages and bean trellises made from it for years.

  4. villager Says:

    I’ll bet those Futsu and Confection squashes are the vining types, right? The Futsu sounds very interesting, but if it vines I don’t really have a good spot for it.

    Not much growing here either but the days are getting longer and things should be taking off soon!

    • Ali Says:

      They are of course vining types. I always choose the most difficult, neediest, or most expensive of anything. ALWAYS. Here’s to longer days!

  5. Lou Murray, Ph.D. Says:

    My idea of a kitchen makeover is washing the floor. Good luck with your project. I hear you about winter doldrums. I have them too and it’s been sunny and in the 70s here in southern California for weeks. I know spring is in the air though because my hens have started laying again!

    • Ali Says:

      We could trade skills, Lou. I hate washing/cleaning. But I’m pretty handy in the home repair department. Care to visit Maine??

  6. kitsapfg Says:

    Most of us have winter crops that are just biding their time waiting for hte return of some solar strength and length. In just a few weeks time the plants with protection will start stirring with life again – but in the meantime you have some interesting and sufficiently big enough projects to keep you occupied!

  7. Daphne Gould Says:

    Dang now I want to try that one. Moschata are the only ones I grow since the borers kill everything. That one sounds delicious.

  8. Cate Talbot Ashton Says:

    I bet you would love the sink combo that I got when we re-did our kitchen — one larger, deeper sink with a narrow second sink. It takes the same amount of space as the old double bowl AND we mounted it under the countertop, so I don’t have that annoying lump around the edge of the sink on the counter. So much easier to keep clean, and room for everything, including cookie sheets and roasting pans.

    • Ali Says:

      I actually have one like that in the garden. Naturally, I found it roadside with a free sign on it. Every time I drive by that house I send a mental thank you.

      Anyway, if I could find a Silgranite sink in that configuration, I’d go for it. Alas, I’m ahead of my time. Or behind. I’d really like a SIlgranite sink with an integral drainboard on the right. Perhaps they’ll be back in fashion the next time I renovate my kitchen.

  9. Dmarie Says:

    such an IMPRESSIVE garden total. looks like time I talk Hubby into adding butternut squash to ours. thanks for the idea

Comments are closed.


