Snow, more snow, and yet more snow

Phil the groundhog’s evil Maine cousins were probably whistling with laughter as the skies dumped somewhere between 12-14 inches of snow on Henbogle.  Well, you little rodent, I’ve got a cookbook with some great recipes, so you’d better watch out.  I was thigh deep in snow this morning as I cleared off the hoophouse.  Tonight and tomorrow I need to clear snow away from the sides and door (and sprinkle some about inside as it is very dry in there) to prepare for yet more snow on Saturday, and oh yes. another storm organizing for Tuesday.

I’m trying to remind myself there are just 46 days until Spring arrives.

10 Responses to “Snow, more snow, and yet more snow”

  1. Sara Says:

    Here too, we had about 18 inches (spread out over 2 1/2 days, thankfully!).

    Our groundhog did not appear either. Still having fun with the snow here, but I know I’ll be ready for signs of spring in a few more weeks.

  2. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    I love “whistling with laughter”! What a great description.

    Did you happen to see this in the Sun Journal?
    http://www.sunjournal.com/river-valley/story/980604

    I can’t decide if this guy is crazy, admirable, or both!

    My husband and I hand-shovel and scoop our driveway, but this guy makes us look like pikers.

    • Ali Says:

      I think both! My stepson Kyle once rigged up a plow for his bike. I think this snow would have done him in, even with all the energy of a teenage boy. We used to hand shovel, but now have a little electric snow blower, which helps a lot.

  3. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Whistling with laughter. Is that like the character from Winnie the Pooh? We’ve got another dose of “wintry mix” on the docket for Saturday, when we’ll be coming home from the conference. That’s the worst. I’m pretty much done with winter, and ready for spring. We’ll see if Phil’s prediction proves accurate. Apparently, he very rarely fails to see his shadow. Maybe spring will come early. One can hope anyway.

    Stay warm!

  4. Robin Says:

    No snow here but I can’t wait for spring. :)

  5. meemsnyc Says:

    Hahahahaha, you are so funny!

  6. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    What kind of electric snow blower do you have? My husband and I were just talking about them—no surprise!—as we were scooping and shoveling. We have an electric lawnmower, which we love, and we were wondering how an electric snow blower would be.

    • Ali Says:

      Laurie, We have a Toro electric snowthrower, http://tinyurl.com/65mr7v6, which is amazing. You have to do smaller chunks at a time, but it does our single car wide, 3 car long driveway, the path to Henbogle Coop, an area for the girls, and the deck with ease.

      I can lift it easily and we store it in the barn attic in the summer. We got it for less than half price at Home Deport at the end of the season one year when we didn’t have much snow. I LOVE it.

  7. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    Thanks so much for the recommendation and for the info! As my husband, Clif, and I settle into “Ma & Pa” status, hand-shoveling and scooping the driveway becomes ever more difficult. After reading about how much you love your electric snowthrower, we will be regularly checking Home Depot to see if we can get a deal similar to the one you got.

    Again, many thanks!

Comments are closed.


