10 glorious hours

Today we will enjoy 10 hours of daylight, with sunrise at 6:53, and sunset at 4:53.  After today, there will be enough sunlight available for plants to begin to grow.  It will be almost unnoticeable at first, but soon, we will see buds swelling, and I hope, greens becoming larger in the hoophouse.  Laura at the Modern Victory Garden wrote about Imbolc, the Celtic word for the midpoint between winter solstice and the vernal equinox.

The longer days, and increasing warmth of the sun is becoming more noticeable.  Yesterday was clear and sunny, but cool; yesterday’s high was just 27°F, but the high in the hoophouse was 62°F.  Amazing.  In a couple of weeks, when I have some vacation days, I will sow some seeds in the hoophouse, and pull back the row covers to see what lived through the winter.  By April, we’ll be eating from the garden again.  I can hardly wait.

8 Responses to “10 glorious hours”

  1. Robin Says:

    I have noticed quite a difference in the daylight this week……yeah more sun!!! Oh, and more snow tomorrow :(

  2. Sara Says:

    You can sure feel the difference in the sun! My low hoops are just about buried in snow, so that’s on the list today. Not much going on in there, but I do have a little hope they will start to show signs of life soon. Though we have below zero nights coming up again. I wonder if they are better off just insulated with snow?

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    It is so hard to imagine spring right now. The sun today does help.

  4. grafixmuse Says:

    I too noticed the extended sunlight yesterday. A portion of my drive home from work is directly into the sun. Yesterday, I noticed it was much higher than just a week ago allowing my visor to be effective. It’s just a little sign, but enough to remind us that spring will follow eventually.

  5. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    Channel 2 weather said we have 9 hours and 59 minutes of daylight now. Regardless, there definitely more power and warmth in the sun. I wonder if the garlic and rhubarb are stirring.

  6. julie Says:

    Spring, glorious spring one can hardly wait. This may be the year I invest in a hoop house, how wonderful it would be to have a few cold weather crops growing… I know my girls would appreciate a few rows of baby lettuce or spinach added to their menu. Hope you, Dan and the ladies are well~Julie

  7. Kim Says:

    I was wondering how your pvc hoop house is standing up to the heavy snow?
    I live in NH. and have questioned if a pvc high tunnel can handle the wet, heavy and masive snow fall we can get in a very short amount of time.
    Thank you for sharing your great articles and photos
    Kim

    • Ali Says:

      Hi Kim,

      We haven’t had a problem yet, but I clean the hoophouse off with a floor broom after every snow.

      If you are concerned, I would suggest using larger diameter conduit and/or placing the ribs slightly closer together. Either way, you will still want to remove the snow to let the light in.

      Today’s high was 81°F in my little hoophouse — amazing. We’ll have lunch in there this weekend.

      Good luck!

Comments are closed.


