Insert new project here

Finally, we are back to the beginning on the mini-remodel of Henbogle kitchen.  Dan sanded the last layer of joint compound today; tomorrow, we will paint the ceiling and reinstall the new track light. Yes, that’s right, paint the ceiling.  That was not on the initial mini-remodel list, but with the large patch to repair, we decided we were in for a penny, we might as well repair a few more dings and spots and repaint the whole ceiling.  Insert new project here; complete, and return to the beginning.  Sigh.  At least the evidence of the blueberry smoothie explosion will be erased.

We’ve spent a lot of energy trying to improve the lighting in the kitchen.  The current lighting always has the light coming from behind you while working, not the best strategy in the kitchen.  After looking at numerous possibilities for under cabinet lighting and discarding all, we decided to replace the current over-sink pendant with new track lighting above the counter with pendants above the sink and in front of the other window.  This will add better lighting to the counter area, and will be on a dimmer switch as well.  The pendant we will use:

The new pendant track lighting will be the final element of the project.  Next up after the ceiling is to install the laminate and then the sink.  My sink arrived yesterday afternoon, delivered by the same nice Fed Ex guy who delivered, and removed, the first damaged sink.  Dan was home and checked the sink over carefully while the Fed Ex guy waited and watched (Dan said he really liked the sink).  This morning, we picked out a new faucet, a Delta Ashton. 

We won’t use the escutcheon plate or the soap dispenser, as I want less gunge-collecting clutter around the sink.  It isn’t my dream faucet style-wise, but had all the functions on my list — single hole installation, single lever handle, pull out sprayer, solid metal construction, brushed stainless finish, and reasonable price.

We also picked out a new backsplash.  We looked at tile, but that was too involved and would have put me over my small budget.  Instead, we will use Fasade panels in smoked pewter.

The panels mimic the look of tin ceiling material, but are heavy-duty, cleanable plastic.  We will pop these in over the existing ugly tile, and save ourselves the trouble of ripping out the tile until we are ready for a bigger renovation project.  Or not.

With luck, we will be able to work on this over the next weekend.  I am looking forward to using a nice big sink!

13 Responses to “Insert new project here”

  1. grafixmuse Says:

    Having a nice large sink will be wonderful. I like your faucet and backsplash as well. Soon your mini-remodel will be complete and you will get to enjoy your new kitchen :) It makes me look around my kitchen to see what can be done.

  2. kitsapfg Says:

    That looks like it will be gorgeous!

  3. jeannie Says:

    Wish I had a big sink~:(
    I have a double.
    Plus I would pics of the finishings Please!

  4. Robin Says:

    Very very nice! I agree with you regarding the gunge. The new sink that we put in during our mini remodel has a ridge all the way around the top of both sinks!! It collects gunge! I think you will be happy with the Delta faucet. Although the style may not be exactly what you want, it is not obnoxious (like some of them) and will blend in nicely. I replaced all of my facuets with good Delta faucets over six years ago and they have been great…not a single problem! Can’t wait to see more pictures!!

    • Ali Says:

      My old double sink was not too bad about gunge but there were a couple of places that were bad. Sorry your new sinks are collectors! I am glad to hear you like the Delta faucets. There are a lot of obnoxious ones out there. What ever happened to form follows function?

  5. Daphne Gould Says:

    I really need something for a backsplash in my kitchen. They never put one in and I haven’t gotten around to it yet, but someday.

    • Ali Says:

      For people like us who actually cook things, it is essential. I try to be careful to minimize splashing while cooking, but it happens nonetheless. And of course there is the occasional smoothie explosion! If my backsplashes weren’t so ugly, the tile would have been OK with re-grouting. But no way am I re-grouting ugly tile!

  6. Robin Says:

    Unfortunately “form” today is what ever is trendy

  7. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    Love the backsplash! Great idea. I do a lot of cooking, too, and am able to keep things fairly clean, but a backsplash like the one you chose would be a big improvement.

    How fine your kitchen is going to look! And, how great to have adequate light.

  8. Robin Says:

    It should look really good. Your going to love having a “new” kitchen to cook in. :)

Comments are closed.


