Harvest Monday: Pumpkin eaters

The remaining squash and pumpkin harvest

Four months after harvesting, we still have some pumpkins and winter squash in storage.  Lat week, I cooked 2 New England Pie pumpkins, one of which had a few bad spots on it.  A third, which I did not include in the tally, went to the hens who were very happy to get it.  The pumpkin became a delicious Curried Pumpkin Soup and a batch of squash clover rolls.  I’ll post recipes on Yankee Pantry.

We and the hens are still enjoying garden produced preserved through freezing or canning.  I rarely mention it, but we regularly enjoy string beans, Swiss chard, kale, zucchini, blueberries, etc. from the garden.  Most frequently  I use frozen produce in soup, because we like soup and I tend to make a big batch or two a week, but I also make quiches and enchiladas, burritos, etc. which also make good lunches to take to work.  We also froze some kale, Swiss chard, and zucchini for the hens, who are definitely enjoying their treats this winter.

I’ve already counted the frozen produce, but the 2 pumpkins weighed in at 3.7 lbs., bringing the garden harvest tally up to 628.88 lbs.  The value of my harvests throughout the season stands at $2,087.54, my expenses remained the same at $317.54 for the year, bringing the net value to $1,770.00.

Note the table with the small grow lights set up behind the squash in the photo.  This is for the leeks and onions which I will be sowing today.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series, where gardeners gather virtually to share their harvests.  Check it out to see what intrepid gardeners across the globe are eating from their gardens during these cold winter months.

7 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Pumpkin eaters”

  1. Sara Says:

    I keep doing the winter squash squeeze too, and using up the ones that look a little squishy. So far one butternut left (which seems about right for nearly-march) and quite a few pumpkins. That curried soup looks great, so I might try that next, thanks!

  2. Michelle Says:

    The last of your squash look like they’re hanging in there ok. I’ve got one squash left and am putting off cutting into it as long as I can. My chickens aren’t interested in raw winter squash, perhaps they’re too spoiled by all the greens that they get from my garden and don’t want to work that hard to peck at the squash flesh!

  3. Barbie Says:

    I used some out of my freezer, too. I forgot to put it on my post. Love winter squash.

  4. Mike Says:

    Ah squash! My last butternut was finished off about 2 weeks ago. Last season didn’t produce many, but the flavor was superb. Haven’t been to Maine in 10 years, now I’m thinking about when I can go back. Looks like you have a beautiful place there.

  5. Lori Says:

    Ohhh, squash clover rolls??? I’ll be checking those out! Your pumpkins and squash look great! Over $1700 in net produce! Awesome!! I love reading about that!
    ~~Lori

  6. Emily Says:

    We used one pie pumpkin this week that was squishy. Still have two large Jarrahdales left and a few small squash. Clover rolls sound good!

  7. Daphne Gould Says:

    I still have a pumpkin from the farmers market, but none of my own. I hope to have many more squash next year.

Comments are closed.


