Well watered

The sink is in, the faucet is in, the water is connected, and there are no leaks.  We’ve made the template for the backsplash, but ran out of time to before we could install it, so I guess we know what next weekend’s plans will include.  We are getting close.

So far, I love the sink.  It is big, but makes it so easy to fill a pot of water for pasta, then later wash said pot and leave it to dry.  It came with the heavy duty stainless steel grid which rests in the bottom of the sink, and a nicely designed, easy to install stainless drain basket with built-in stainless strainer to catch food scraps to feed the compost.

The faucet handle is a little different, but was also amazingly well-engineered.  It was very easy to install, and the pull-out sprayer has a very flexible hose (unlike the stiff plastic hose on my former faucet sprayer) which is weighted and fastens to the faucet neck with a strong magnet to hold it tight.

The sink material has a nice feel, smooth but it is hard — I don’t think it will be easily scratched.  It is black with barely noticeable flecks of an iridescent material.  It is very quiet compared to the stainless sink, and warms nicely and seems to stay warm from the water.  All that and for a very reasonable price  –I think it was a good choice.

10 Responses to “Well watered”

  1. meemsnyc Says:

    I love the large sink. It’s wonderful. I like how much room you have to do dishes and stuff.

  2. nruit Says:

    I am still waiting for someone I know to rip out our double sink and put in the large, deep single bowl one that we have sitting in the mudroom… I love your new countertops as well. It looks great!

    • Ali Says:

      Nina, that might call for serious measures. Perhaps a starvation diet? Or refusing to wash any more dishes until it goes in? Or withholding…. something? ;-)

  3. Lynn on Pleasant St Says:

    Looks GREAT!!!!! I love how the color of the sink and counter match. Can’t wait to see pics of when you have the kitchen finished!

  4. Robin Says:

    Oh Ali….it looks great! Now I want to rip out my sink and put one in like yours!!

    • Ali Says:

      Robin, go for it! The more I use it the more I love it. AND, this model can be undermounted or topmounted, in case in the future I come into an inheritance from a long lost relative and can put in soapstone counters.

  5. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Sweet! Love that rack in the sink.

    • Ali Says:

      Kate, me too. At first I wasn’t so sure about it, but now I can see it is high function.

  6. Sara Says:

    Counters and sink look great! I’m not sure if I could adjust to a single sink, but a lot of people seem to love them! The faucet looks very cool!

Comments are closed.


