Maine Maple Sunday

Today was Maine Maple Sunday, a day to celebrate all the sweet nectar our lovely maple trees give us every spring.  Dan and I usually attend a pancake breakfast at a nearby farm, but this year they did not hold a breakfast.  Not a problem, I can make breakfast.

Henbogle eggs and Maine apples became a beautiful Dutch apple pancake, leftover local corned beef and Maine potatoes became hash, a fruit salad featured strawberries we picked at a local farm and blueberries from our bushes, and sweet, delicious Maple syrup was the crowning touch on the pancake.  Yum

Mom and our friend Karen joined us for the feast, which I’m thinking should become a tradition.

7 Responses to “Maine Maple Sunday”

  1. nruit Says:

    Wow! That does look like quite a feast.

  2. Emily Says:

    Sounds great!

  3. Sara Says:

    that looks amazing!

  4. Laurie Meunier Graves Says:

    What a great idea! Now why didn’t I think of doing something like that? Duh! Next year. Also, the food looks delicious.

  5. Jessica Says:

    That food looks awesome!!!!
    I helped my friend sugar last weekend and in exchange for my help I was sent home with a gallon of fresh syrup. My husband and I made maple cream and maple sugar candy…yum yum.
    We are off to the gym today to burn off all that sugar!

  6. Daphne Gould Says:

    Yum. I used to get blueberry pancakes every Sunday but we quit doing that. I really miss them.

  7. Tracy G Says:

    I am a newcomer to your blog, and a total wanabe gardner :) Great pictures and commentary I have enjoyed reading.
    Your post inspired me to make a salad dressing with a splash of Maple Syrup, yum!
    Looking forward to tonights dinner just a bit more now.

Comments are closed.


