March gardening

It has been cold here at Henbogle.  At last, though, after what seems to be a very gray and dreary March, the sun has been out for three consecutive days, and while temps are about 10 degrees below normal, at least today in the hoophouse it was spring-like.

Under the row covers, I have some lettuce coming along nicely.  I lost a few plants, but these overwintered well.  I hope I can find my notes on what variety I planted there!

Note the trace of snow outside the hoophouse.  Inside the hoophouse, daytime temps are now routinely in the 70s and 80s on sunny days, but still in the 30s at night.  I need to take a soil temp, but the soil did not seem too cold this afternoon.

Spinach sowed in the late fall is coming along, but pretty slowly, with sporadic germination.  I filled in the empty spots with seed today.  In 2009 I planted it earlier (mid-October) than I did this year with much better success.

I used my new seeding jigs for the first time.  They worked well.  I can’t wait to see tidy little squares of seedlings.  I sowed mache, orach, tatsoi, pac choi, lettuce, and spinach.  I hope next weekend I can get a few more hardy greens started. 

After I finished sowing, I covered everything back up with floating row cover.  The weather forecast is not predicting a big warm up anytime soon, unfortunately.  Tonight’s temps call for the high teens, and daytime temps for the week are predicted to be in the mid-low 30s.  Brr.  March appears to be going out like a lion.  Let’s hope April is a bit more lamb-like.

It was great to spend a couple of hours in the warm sun in the hoophouse smelling the dirt.  Ahhh.

5 Responses to “March gardening”

  1. Tessa @ Blunders with Shoots, Blossoms 'n Roots Says:

    We’ve been about 10 degrees lower than last year too- and it’s usually much sunnier. I think it has something to do with La Nina- stay warm.

  2. Sara Says:

    Same boat here temp-wise. I love your jigs–I’ve assembled most of the “ingredients” to make some, but have to get on it, thanks for the reminder.

  3. weez Says:

    what about water content of the soil for the seedlings in the hoophouse since there’s no rainwater?

    • Ali Says:

      Good question, Weez. Currently, the soil is still quite moist due to the overall moisture content of the soil outside the hoophouse — the moisture spreads through the soil under the hoophouse. To make sure the seeds have enough moisture, I sprinkle a bit of snow on them, which then melts providing a nice slow trickle of moisture, quickly warmed during the sunny days.

  4. Daphne Gould Says:

    It has been pretty cold. Today is nice though. It got above average for the first time in a long time.

Comments are closed.


