Harvest Monday: Leeky love

Thursday, with the threat of snow in the air, I rushed out to the garden after work to see if I the soil had thawed enough to harvest a leek.  Eureka, just before the snow piled 10 more inches atop the garden, I pried one delicious leek out of the ground.  It looked a bit raggedey, but I sauteed it in butter and added it to a broccoli quiche, and it was the star ingredient.  Yum.

This is my first harvest Monday since January, but there are a few more leeks in the ground, so it won’t be my last.  Thursday’s leek brings the garden harvest total to 641.83 lbs. for the 2010 growing season.  The value of my harvests stands at $2,102.48, my expenses remained the same at $317.54 for the year, bringing the net value to $1,784.94.

Check out the harvests of other intrepid gardeners at Daphne’s Dandelions Harvest Monday series, where other obsessed gardeners share their obsession via the interwebs every Monday.

7 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Leeky love”

  1. Robin Says:

    Boy I bet you savored every bit of that quiche!! I have to agree that we are all just a little obsessed!!

  2. The Mom Says:

    Yummy! Anything from the garden at this point is a victory. A leek is a wonderful thing.

  3. kitsapFG Says:

    I love leeks – such a hardy character and they always come to the rescue when nothing else is producing in the garden.

  4. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Hurrah for leek harvest. The quiche looks lovely.

  5. Daphne Gould Says:

    Leeks are so delicious. I wish I had some overwintered. I hope I have time in the fall to make a proper winter garden and overwinter a few things.

  6. Lynda Reynolds Says:

    Oh how I love, love, love leeks! I had crop failure last season, but I’m putting them in again, and again and again. Your quiche looks positively naughty! YUMMY!

  7. wf Says:

    Did you say 641 lb? wow! Good for you. The quiche looked delish…Happy Spring!!!

Comments are closed.


