Spring is where?

In my last post on April 11, it felt like Spring was on the doorstep, but this week, not so much. Saturday night into Sunday we had over 1.5 inches of cold rain and wind, and the temps have remained stubbornly in the low 40s with chilly breezes during the day, and into the 30s at night.  Brrr.  I am so jealous of bloggers like Villager at Our Happy Acres who have been eating from their gardens for weeks, and let’s just not think about the blooming cherry tree.  Sob.  Nonetheless, spring is creeping closer, as evidenced by the greening lawn, and we have been busy preparing at Henbogle.

All the ornamental beds with the exception of the cutting flower bed have been raked and things are blooming and popping up.  At least the cold temperatures mean the crocus and scilla that survive the pounding rain have a long bloom period.  In the deck, bed, the hyacinth are blooming.  I seem to be missing my favorite yellow hyacinth, City of Amsterdam, don’t know what happened there, but I miss its beautiful yellow florets and captivating scent.

It wouldn’t be spring at Henbogle without the seedling cart in the laundry room.  I’ve been trying out the soil block maker that Dan gave me for Christmas, and I really like it.  It is much faster than filling plastic cell trays with growing medium, or making newspaper pots by the hundreds.  Thanks to Daphne for a great tutorial on them.

Another sign of spring at Henbogle are a few new chicks to add to the Henbogle flock!  It is hard to imagine that in 15 16 or so weeks these little fluffballs will be laying beautiful delicious eggs, but it is true.

And finally, keeping us busy this week has been a bit of car shopping.  Yes, it was time for my beloved Pontiac Vibe to retire so yesterday, a gently used Mazda 3 hatchback joined the Henbogle crew.  It looks a lot like the Vibe, I hope it proves to be as trouble free as the Vibe was.  I so loved that car.  Sigh.

Today at last the sun is out so I hope we will be spending some time outside and I will get some photos of the hoophouse to share in addition to harvesting my first lettuce of the season!

20 Responses to “Spring is where?”

  1. Vickie Says:

    Could you tell me what kind of chickens will lay in 15 weeks?

  2. Emily Says:

    Your new chicks are cute. We’re amazed at how fast ours are growing.

    • Ali Says:

      Yours are equally adorable, and yes, they grow amazingly quickly. Henkeeping has give me a lot of insight into birds and how amazing they are.

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    I’m jealous of villager too. I want more harvests. Tomorrow I might just find something to pick. At he very least some more spinach.

  4. nruit Says:

    Hooray for new chicks! There is nothing like fluffy peepers to make the season seem a little springier!

  5. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    I have chicks in the basement along with rabbits bearing young. Spring in Maine is so fickle but I really want to get the buns back into their outside hutches. Tomato, broccoli and squash seedlings are repotted. Can’t wait to put them into the garden proper.

    • Ali Says:

      You are ahead of me, I’m just starting seedlings after a rough spring, sigh. Good luck with the bunnies.

  6. Karen Anne Says:

    My yellow hyacinths, Amsterdam, are very robust, if I do say so myself, by the white L’Innocence came up on their last legs, it looks like. I’m in zone 6.

  7. Sara Says:

    Your yard looks great. I have to admit I’ve been bummed by the non-spring weather (here too, sigh) and ignoring outside cleanup chores. This may be a poor decision if I get way behind, but I keep thinking I”ll be more inspired soon. I did plant peas though, and a couple are finally up!

    Fun chicks, how many do you have in all?

  8. Robin Says:

    Your new little chicks are just adorable! Your yard looks great! I finally have most of my outside clean-up done here at the house. With the cold wet spring we have been having, I just didn’t feel like doing it.

    It seeems like the worst of the weather is over and temps are going to start being a little more seasonable.

    • Ali Says:

      I hope the worst is over… but we are having another cold, rainy day here today, sigh. I hope it mellows out soon!

  9. weez Says:

    The new car looks like a winner!!!!

  10. kitsapFG Says:

    Spring time is here – she’s just being a big “cold” hearted though. LOL!

    The chicks are adorable. What’s your method for integrating new ones into your established flock? I expect that next year we will be adding a few new ones into our flock and I am uncertain how to do that successfully. Would hate to have the new young ones hurt.

  11. jeannie Says:

    Everything looks Great Ali! looks like its all starting it’s ballet of the summer.vegies!. I myself have one little tomatoe growing so far out of all my flowers. I’m so excited!

Comments are closed.


