Give peas a chance

We had a gorgeous weekend here at Henbogle.  Dry and sunny, with a bit of a breeze to keep the black flies at bay.  We did a lot of gardening over the weekend; it was so great to be outside.  Today I was outside from early morning until 6 pm or so, and it was great.  I just love spending these early spring days in the fresh air and sunshine.

We accomplished a lot from the list.

The water hooked up to the back
Fertilized garlic and shallots, then mulched
Prepared pea and bean bed and plant peas
Mulch removal and weeding in other beds
Set seed potatoes out to begin sprouting
Thinned seedlings and set out for a bit of sun
Made and sowed a salad box for Mom

We harvested lettuce from the hoophouse for the second time on Saturday morning.  I’ve got lettuce, endive, carrots and spinach going in the hoophouse, with more to follow.  I’m thinking about trying some cucumbers under floating row cover — will it work?

I planted Cascadia snap peas.  I need to stop by Johnnys today and pick up some Sugar Ann or Sugar Sprint snap peas to compare with a succession planting, somehow I forgot to order those and am using last years remaining Cascadia peas.  I hope they germinate well.

Dan did a lot of weeding in the other beds, so now all that remains to do is add more compost, fertilize and I’ll be ready for sowing or transplanting.  I have some brassicas I purchased ready to go in, and onions and lettuce.  I need to get the tomato/pepper bed ready and get the IRT plastic mulch down on for the soil to warm up.  The bed I used the IRT mulch was on last year had the fewest weeds this spring, and the tomatoes and peppers did great.  Of course, I’ve yet to make the tomato cages so that project is becoming more urgent, too.

The sky was blue, the sun shone, we worked hard and before you could say Monday, the day was winding down.  I love this time of year.

5 Responses to “Give peas a chance”

  1. Robin Says:

    Well it looks like spring has finally arrived for you! It always feels so good to spend a nice spring day outside working in the garden. Everything is growing very well in your hoop house. The spinach is a nice size. I have the worst time growing spinach.

    • Ali Says:

      Robin, the best way for me to grow spinach is a late fall planting overwintered. I bet that would work great for you. The spinach you see was mostly started in October, then covered with remay and of course in the hoop house. I bet that would work great for you.

  2. Sara Says:

    Looks great! I use pea seed for years, so I’m sure yours will be fine :)

    we had to be out of town this weekend, but now the weather is turning great so I am looking forward to taking a few days off and having day-long garden sessions too! Hooray for spring (cross our fingers its staying this time!)

  3. kitsapFG Says:

    We had a similar day on Sunday as well. Lots of sunshine and warmer temps and there was no way I was going to spend it inside a house! You got lots done and I bet you slept well too. :D

  4. Daphne Gould Says:

    We have had some really nice weather recently too. Spring is such a pretty time of the year. And the season just makes you want to go out and work in the garden.

    Some of my pea seed was a couple years old this year, but it germinated just fine. After three years I’d probably toss it though.

Comments are closed.


