Harvest Monday: Leeks and lettuce

I’m trying to use up the last of the overwintered leeks from the garden so I can prepare that spot for my peppers and tomatoes, the planned 2011 occupants.  Thus I harvested a 9.3 oz. and made a batch of potato leek soup with the last of my local potatoes.  We also feasted on a delicious salad made from our own overwintered Red Sails lettuce Sunday.  Yum.  This weeks totals:

1.37 lbs of leeks and lettuce harvested this week for a total of 3.28 lbs this year at a total value of $9.44.  My garden expenses to date are $322.12 after a trip to Johnny’s for more seeds, which leaves me in the red for gardening with a seasonal net of $-312.68.

This post is part of Daphne’s Dandelions Harvest Monday series.  Stop by her blog to see if any other gardeners are in the black yet this season.

7 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Leeks and lettuce”

  1. Daphne Gould Says:

    Oh yum I love leeks. I ought to start some this fall to overwinter. Or did you start them in the summer to overwinter? I’ve never overwintered them before. Do they need protection? I’m guessing you planted them in your greenhouse.

    • Ali Says:

      Daphne, I start leeks in the spring, they need a long growing season to mature. They will over winter well. Mine were not in the hoophouse this year, I just mulched them deeply with straw. Soon they were covered in snow. They look a little ragged, but taste great.

  2. kitsapFG Says:

    I love leek and potato soup. I skipped growing leeks for a couple of years, but they are back in the rotation for 2011. The red sails lettuce looks delicious. I am so glad lettuce season is back.

    • Ali Says:

      I too love leek and potato soup, and caramelized leeks on pizza, and leek and goat cheese tarts, and and and…. I just read another recipe I am going to try. Potato, leek and sorrel soup.

  3. nruit Says:

    That lettuce is making me drool! Just beautiful!

  4. Barbie Says:

    Wonderful looking head of leattuce. Hoping to see some sprouts of a hawaiian variety in my garden soon! *fingers crossed*

Comments are closed.


