Spreading the goodness

Compost, beautiful compost.  Thanks to the hens, we now have compost enough that I don’t have to feel like I am parsing it out, a scoop at a time, to the most worthy vegetables (tomatoes get all they can use, green beans, a tablespoon).  After making the tomato cages Sunday, while Dan weeded dandelions and the ever-persistent quackgrass, I spread compost on the tomato/pepper  and potato beds.

The hens patrolled the fenceline to take advantage of any available bugs or worms in the compost as I spread it.   When they tired of that, there was an enormous pile of dandelions to devour.  Yum.  There are a few areas remaining that need significant weeding, but it is looking good for the most part.  I have to finish pulling the leeks so I can prep that part of the bed, then on to the rest of the garden.  So much to do, so little time.

9 Responses to “Spreading the goodness”

  1. Robin Says:

    I had to laugh when you talked about being so frugal with your compost. I can so relate!

  2. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    Even my hens wouldn’t give me all the compost I covet. Fortunately we have a very open-handed yard waste facility that churns out high quality compost and gives it away for free. For your leeks, you might consider cleaning, chopping, and lightly sauteing them. Then make individual piles of them on cookie sheets and freeze them. It worked really well for me and it’s a delight to pull a clump of partially cooked leeks out of the freezer. It’s like convenience food, made from scratch!

    • Ali Says:

      Kate, I’ve been thinking about trying your leek method. I have a lunch party for a graduating senior and her family next weekend, and if I have any leeks left after than. I will be freezing them as you suggested. Love homemade convenience foods!

  3. Daphne Gould Says:

    I used to be able to make enough compost for my needs, but here in the city I think I’m going to have to import it most years.

    • Ali Says:

      I bet the number of leaves you can collect in the fall will make a big difference. I am lucky we get so many leaves. Between the leaves and the hens, I am doing well in the compost department.

  4. Robin Says:

    Such a busy time of the year! I always have enough compost to apply it twice a year for the home garden beds. Now I have to start making it at the plots!

  5. Sara Says:

    Chickens definitely jump-started my compost making. I am importing some city compost this season since I’ve got so many new beds in store, but I like my own better, ha! Glad to see I’m not the only person who takes proud pictures of their black gold ;)

  6. kitsapFG Says:

    Our hens have really helped my compost operation alot too. The piles are cooking faster and I am completing a stack alot faster. Your finished compost looks superior and I am sure the garden beds will be uber productive as a result!

Comments are closed.


