Harvest Monday: Lettuce

Last weeks’ harvest consisted of this gorgeous lettuce, a mix of butterhead and red sails, and all my overwintered carrots.  The carrots were nothing special, but the lettuce was fabulous.  In all, I picked 19 oz. of lettuce and 6 oz. of carrots.  I gave Dan’s mom a big head of red sails and we enjoyed the rest in salads, and there will be more to come this week. Unfortunately I neglected to snap a photo of the carrots, but they were not that pretty, unlike that gorgeous lettuce.

My big lettuce and carrot harvest this week gives me a total of 4.71 lbs this year at a total value of $12.62.  My garden expenses to date are $322.12 after a trip to Johnny’s for more seeds, which leaves me in the red for gardening with a seasonal net of $-309.50.

We’ve got a stretch of cool rainy weather going, which should be great for the lettuce and Asian greens in the garden, so with luck I’ll be able to add a stir fry to my harvest meals in the next week.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series on her blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.  Click on by and see what other gardeners are harvesting this week.

4 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Lettuce”

  1. villager Says:

    Cool and rainy weather here too. Nothing like tender spring lettuce!

  2. Laurie Graves Says:

    What beautiful lettuce! At least this cool spring is good for something.

  3. Robin Says:

    It seems like the spring lettuce is always the best. We are also supposed to have rain nearly every day for the next 8 days.

  4. EvoOrganic Says:

    We too are getting nothing but rain every day. At least you have some great lettuce to show for it!

Comments are closed.


