Harvest Monday: Spinach and rhubarb

Lettuce, spinach and Pac Choi

Despite a week of dark skies and cold rain, this week saw a big increase in garden harvesting.  Part of the reason is that I’ve been hoarding spinach for a special meal for my friend Ellen, who graduated from college on Sunday.  Ellen and her family joined Dan and I for lunch on Saturday, and I wanted to showcase food from the garden and early spring treats.  More on that later.  What it means today is that we had a big harvest to report.

More spinach

This week we harvested 4.34 lbs from the garden, slightly over 3 times last week’s harvest, consisting of  15 oz of spinach, 35.5 oz. of lettuce, 5 oz. of Pac Choi thinnings, and 14 oz. of rhubarb.  This adds up to 9.08 lbs. at a total value of $28.02.  My garden expenses to date are $322.12 resulting in a seasonal net of $-294.09.  I did go shopping on Sunday and picked up some more seeds, Neptune’s Harvest Fish and Seaweed fertilizer and some additional pepper seedlings, which will be added to expenses next week as Dan has the receipt somewhere and I don’t know the totals.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series on her terrific blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.  Click on over to see what other gardeners are harvesting this week, and for great ideas from Daphne’s urban garden.

6 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Spinach and rhubarb”

  1. Allison @ Novice Life Says:

    Your harvest looks great! Oh how I wish I had Rhubarb! What a special treat!!

  2. kitsapFG Says:

    What a good harvest week for you and I hope the spinach and other garden produce were a hit with your friend at the get together.

  3. emily Says:

    What a great week of harvests! I need to pick some of my rhubarb soon.

  4. Barbie Says:

    Love the variation of colors of your ‘greens’ :-)

  5. Laurie Graves Says:

    Lovely!

  6. Daphne Gould Says:

    What a nice harvest and it is always fun to share with friends.

Comments are closed.


