Lunch from the garden

Saturday last Dan and I had the very great pleasure of hosting one of my favorite students, Ellen, and her family for a celebratory lunch the day before Ellen graduated from college.

Miraculously, the sun came out for a brief time over lunch.  Whoo hoo! We could eat on the deck!

Remember that big pile of spinach?  Well, it became a delicious spinach and goat cheese quiche.  Accompanying the quiche was a lovely salad made with some of the lettuce, asparagus wrapped in prosciutto and grilled, and a Rhubarb Custard Pie that I cannot praise highly enough.  (Seriously, you MUST try this pie.)

We had a lovely time, enjoying the sunshine, the birds, the gardens, the sunshine, the food and most importantly, the company.

Ellen’s family gifted us with some gorgeous Meyer lemons from the tree in their yard, which I intend to turn into Meyer lemon marmalade this weekend.  Ellen has returned to California for what I hope is a brief visit with her family, as she is hoping for a job in Maine.  Send some positive vibes to her!

10 Responses to “Lunch from the garden”

  1. O. Says:

    Do you use all the zest in the marmalade? If not, just one word: limoncello.

  2. meemsnyc Says:

    Spinach from the garden and meyer lemons! Sounds wonderful! What a great lunch.

  3. Laurie Graves Says:

    Sounds utterly delicious! Could you give some pointers for the grilled asparagus with prosciutto? Just wrap it and grill it? Time?

    • Ali Says:

      Laurie, it was FAB! I used thin spears, trimmed well of any tough ends. I cut the prosciutto into bacon-shaped slices, and wrapped the slices barber-pole like around the spears, over lapping the prosciutto and pressing it against itself to encourage sticking onto the spear.

      I preheated the grill on high until it was HOT, then put the spears on the grill, with the tips toward the edges of the grill where it is slightly cooler. I left them in place until crispy, then turned them over and did the same. I served them drizzled with some balsamic vinaigrette, but if you have some really good balsamic vinegar that would be excellent I bet. YUM!

  4. kitsapFG Says:

    Sounds like a perfectly lovely day – good food, good weather, and good friends! That rhubarb pie recipe looks heavenly – I may have to snag it and harvest some rhubarb this weekend!

  5. Leigh Says:

    Your lunch menu sounds absolutely fantastic! What a way to honor a favorite student. The pie recipe looks absolutely yum. A definite must try (as soon as my rhubarb matures enough to harvest!

  6. Hadas Says:

    Hi, I see you let your hair grow its nice. and your garden looks beautiful. and the food, well, it brings back memories.

    • Ali Says:

      Hadas, I wish you could have joined us for lunch! It is lovely to hear from you! We miss you still, take care!

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I love your hair! It’s a very nice picture of you. Thanks for the recipes!

  8. Farmgirl Susan Says:

    Your lunch sounds wonderful, and that pie is gorgeous! I’m definitely going to try the recipe. And I think you’ve just convinced me to (finally!) plant some rhubarb in the garden. Thanks for the delicious inspiration. :)

Comments are closed.


