Harvest Monday: Green bonanza

The spinach and lettuce are rolling in just now at Henbogle, with things maturing rapidly in the hoophouse.  This weekend, summer roared in and temperatures soared, up 30 degrees from Thursday, leaving us gasping in the unexpected heat.  I will be pulling spinach all week before it bolts, and salads will be a prime feature at the table.  The new sink is great for washing lots of greens, and don’t they look pretty in there!

I’ve been keeping Dan’s mom well supplied with lettuce (and eggs) this spring.  I think she’s been enjoying it.  She agrees that with me that the Italian butterhead I bought on a whim last year is delicious.

This week’s harvest also included chives and some of the overwintered parsley.  The total harvested:  2.3 lbs. of lettuce, 1 lb 1 oz. of spinach and  2 oz. of herbs.  That brings the weekly total to 3.5 lbs. this week, and the 2011 total to 13.28 lbs. valued at $47.12.  That brings the yearly value of the harvest to $275.

My garden expenses to date are $375.56 this week after purchasing some Neptune’s Harvest fish emulsion and a few packs of seedlings.  This results in a seasonal net of $-328.44.  I’d better get cracking on some high value veggies to balance out my totals!

On Sunday I processed (crushed the leaves into a paper bag) the last of my dried catnip from last year.  I did not include this in the harvest totals — how can you put a value on something that results in a blissed-out kitty?  Ocho’s happiness came from rolling on the stems and leaf remnants on the deck.  Paisley got to enjoy some of the crumbled leaves in the kitchen.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series on her blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.  Click on over to see what other gardeners are harvesting this week.

4 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Green bonanza”

  1. Sara Says:

    I’d say you’re doing pretty well if you’ve almost recouped your expenses this early! We’re rolling in greens (if not $) this week too, I finally started freezing spinach because we couldn’t eat it all, and gave away a ton too.

  2. Daphne Says:

    It was a really good spring for lettuce this year. The heat though is terrible. I wish we would get back into the 70s which is normal June weather and my favorite.

  3. Robin Says:

    I grew an Italian butterhead type too this year and we just love it! It’s also a pretty lettuce.

    Boy, you have two very happy cats there! My cats will go into the herb garden and roll around on the catnip

  4. jeannie Says:

    Ali, it sounds as though you and Dan have things under control again this year. I got a tomatoe plant given to me in Fla this year started from seed and it is doing very well and the plant I bought at a local garden place in Fla is also doing well. so far I have several beautiful tomatoes growing. I love starting out in florida.

Comments are closed.


