Why didn’t I buy a bigger fridge?

It is the time of year where the food comes in almost faster than I can eat it or give it away.  From the upper left:  Clear liquid=hummingbird nectar, pickled golden beets, mayo, pickled beets #2 (why?), box of cleaned lettuce, salad spinner tub with cleaned lettuce, & spinach, one lone beer (I hope more are in the back!), asparagus, cheese bin, tub of spinach #2 with red lid, bolting pac choi from the hoophouse, more lettuce…. And the produce bins below hold the last of the farmer’s market carrots, and sadly, some supermarket cabbage, peppers and cukes.

Every summer I wonder why refrigerators are not designed better for storing produce.  And then I remember I’m a freak.  Sigh.  Is the answer a larger fridge, or a second small fridge that runs only in the summer and fall?

5 Responses to “Why didn’t I buy a bigger fridge?”

  1. Daphne Says:

    My answer is my town-housemates’ fridge. When I have too much to fit into mine, I just walk over to hers and start shoving things in. I’ve taken over both of her crisper drawers. Then again when I put things in there they get to eat them. And they do thank goodness. As I just can’t keep up with it all.

  2. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    We’ve been debating getting rid of our oldish fridge in favor of a small, super-efficient Euro-style fridge with no freezer. We lived with one of these for four years in Europe, so we know we can do it, given that we have a chest freezer in the garage. Something I came across regarding adjusting to just a small fridge struck home with me. It was the claim that fridges in the US are mostly full of condiments and compost, and that if you get rid of the stuff that mostly just hangs around in there long term or for no purpose whatsoever except to slow down a process of rot, then there’s plenty of room for what we really need to keep in the fridge. Now my fridge has plenty of stuff that falls under the condiment category – sits there for months with only occasional use. Maybe your fridge is different. But it’s an interesting way of looking at what we do with our fridge and asking ourselves some tough questions about best use and what we really need.

    • Ali Says:

      Kate, you’ve got it pegged RE the condiments. Most of them are fairly high acid, anyway, so do they really need to be refrigerated? Or is there a more efficient way to do so? And why do the dilly beans and pickled beets need to be refrigerated, once opened we eat them pretty quickly…. Much of that top shelf and the unsees door are full of condiments.
      Of course, there is the jug of maple syrup, milk and cream, and planned leftovers for lunches, too. Still, there has to be a better way. At least refrigerators are becoming more efficient every year, although it is hard to find them without icemakers and water dispensers, which I loathe.

  3. Sara Says:

    Too funny! D has declared it officially “colander” season around here, where piles of clean and/or dirty colanders are all over the kitchen…and probably will be until October!

    My fridge is full of greens in bags too, I am trying hard to use them up or unload them on anybody who gets within range :)

Comments are closed.


