Harvest Monday: Yet more spinach and lettuce

With last week’s freak hot spell, my spinach began to bolt. Too bad, because by Tuesday, temps were on the way down to a very cool upper 30s Saturday night.  The remaining spinach is holding its own but will need to be harvested soon, as in this week probably tomorrow morning but first we have to eat some more.  I cut all the remaining overwintered spinach which amounted to 23 oz once cleaned, not including some I’d picked earlier in the week.  My total spinach harvest last week was 27.6 oz.

The spinach we’ve been eating in salads and on pizza, as a white pizza with spinach, garlic, ricotta and mozzarella, mmm.  I made the pizza on the grill, which is challenging yet so worth it.  I love the slightly charred crust (in some cases over charred, sigh) and being able to cook it out on the deck.  I cook the spinach first with some garlic, then add the cooked spinach to the pizza.  It is also good when the ricotta is added to the spinach in the pan and stirred together, but that is more complicated on the grill.

Lettuce continues to fill the harvest basket.  Last week I harvested 35.9 oz of lettuce.  We ate a lot but gave some away, too. Right now we are mostly eating Red Sails and Butterhead, but have some other varieties coming along nicely.  Fortunately, the hoophouse lettuce is holding out and not bolting, but I will need to harvest it soon to make room for new heat loving crops.

I also harvested some pac choi from the hoophouse that began to bolt.  This seems to be the slugs favorite now that I’ve given up on Napa cabbage, which seemed to be more like Napa lace by the time it was large enough to harvest.  I should have thinned the pac choi earlier, but there is never enough time.  As it is, the lovely tender stems and flowers are great for stir fries.  I harvested 14.4 oz. from the hoophouse, there is more under the row covers outside which will be ready soon.

Finally, I pulled the last of my overwintered leeks, which amounted to 14 oz all cleaned and trimmed.  These needed to be pulled to prep the space and do some weeding as the creeping CHarlie had indeed crept under the straw that mulched the leeks and is looking very content there.  I will make sure whatever goes there will be happy with IRT mulch so that I can try and keep the Charlie under control.

This week’s harvest totaled 5.74 lbs.bringing the 2011 total to 19.23 lbs. valued at $71.31.  That brings the yearly value of the harvest to $-304.25 when taking my expenses of $375.56 into consideration.  Last year I broke even on my garden the week of June 28, somehow this year I don’t think that will be happening this cool spring.  This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series on her blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.  Click on over to see what other gardeners from warmer climes are harvesting this week.

6 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Yet more spinach and lettuce”

  1. kitsapFG Says:

    Your harvest looks a lot like mine this week – lots of spinach and other greens. Our garden season is really behind normal schedule this year too due to cool and wet conditions all spring. I think we will be doing some catching up in June though. That is the hope anyways!

  2. Allison @ Novice Life Says:

    Ohhh white pizza…..yum!

  3. Villager Says:

    Love those grilled pizzas, but the crust is always a challenge for me. So I cheat and use a pre-baked pita and slap it on the grill with pizza toppings. Your grilled white pizza sounds divine!

  4. Barbie Says:

    The white pizza sounds right up my ally! MMMmmmm good!

  5. Robin Says:

    Nice spinach and lettuce…..can’t complain about that! I think that it has been a bad year for the bugs with all the rain that we had.

  6. Daphne Says:

    I love spinach pizza too. Yum. And grilled pizza. I learned how to make i this year, but it wasn’t hard since I’ve been grilling flat bread for years. And basically they are the same, you just have to top it after it is flipped. I do use the top shelf sometimes though to get it away from the heat, but enough to melt the cheese. Mmmmmmm pizza.

Comments are closed.


