Salad dazed

I picked more lettuce this morning, and washed all of it and prepared it with my salad spinner, then packed it in my largest plastic container.  There’s probably 3 lbs of lettuce and spinach all ready to be thrown in a bowl and eaten.  I line the bowl with a clean (kitchen use only) cotton men’s hankie, which absorbs the moisture from the washed leaves so they stay crisp, not slimy.  I love my convenience foods!

Dan and I are eating a lot of salads these days.  I read with interest Daphne’s post about garlic scape salad dressing, and thought I need to shake things up and try some new salad dressings.  So tell me, what are your favorite salad dressings? What do you like to put in your salads?

One of my favorites is Lemon Parmesan Dressing, especially with an arugula salad.  Wow.  I drool all winter thinking about it.  I have several dressings listed in my recipe blog, Yankee Pantry, which can be accessed through the categories drop down menu.  Please share your favorites with me!

 

EDIT 6/7/2011

I awoke this morning thinking about another terrific summer salad which mixes savory and sweet, fruit and greens, with Maple-Lime dressing and blue cheese.  My friend Nikki taught me this recipe years ago, and I think it will be on the menu for tonight.

5 Responses to “Salad dazed”

  1. kathi dunphy Says:

    I love this dressing : 3 T olive oil +1T balsamic vinegar + 1 t maple syrup. Shake and enjoy on your salad.

  2. Sara Says:

    That Lemon-Parmesan looks really good! And I love the idea of maple syrup.

    I need new recipes–We are kind of in a vinaigrette rut here, though sometimes I add yogurt for a creamy version.

    The kale recipe i tried (http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/2853)
    had a cool and very healthy dressing: 1/2 an apple, 1/4 cup walnuts, 2T raisins and Dijon Mustard, 1 T Red wine vinegar, plus 1/5 teaspoon salt. Wizz in the blender or processor. Pretty sweet but a nice change.

  3. Daphne Says:

    I’m a lover of sweet dressing, so French is always my favorite.
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/My-Grandmothers-French-Dressing/Detail.aspx
    And that one is very, very sweet. Don’t even think about it if you don’t like your dressings sweet.

  4. 10yearchallenge Says:

    It’s definitely salad season! We can’t eat our lettuce fast enough. I always plant too much.

  5. kitsapFG Says:

    I like lots of different dressings – garlic enfused vinegarettes, raspberry walnut vinegarette, ranch dressings (buttermilk is the best but I like lots of variations), blue cheese, green goddess, caesar dressing, and ginger/sesame dressing. I generally buy most of our dressings – but I do make home made ranch and green goddess now and then.

Comments are closed.


