Mid June garden report

Our cool spring is resulting in slow progress on the some fronts, but the spinach was excellent, and lettuce has been delicious and abundant.  The cool overcast weather with foggy nights made for pretty good carrot germination.  The seedlings are still tiny, but are coming along and I’m looking forward to some delicious tender carrots in a few weeks.  I hope a fall crop proves to be as successful.

The potatoes are also looking happy.  A couple of plants got a slow start, and one never sprouted (lower right corner), but the rest look great.  I have a few seed potatoes left so I will replant the one that did not sprout.

The recently planted cucumbers have started to sprout, the squash, though, has yet to make an appearance.  I need to plant some more summer squash very soon today.  This late I’m not sure if winter squash will be a good option, but I will try again with Johnny’s Honey Bear, a squash sprinter at 85 days.

The peas are growing well.  There are some gaps from I think some bird snacking when the peas were first emerging, and some unknown nibbler later.  A second crop of peas germinated spottily, and also suffered from critter nibbling.  I might try one more planting next week for a fall harvest if I can find a spot.

There’s no sign yet of the pole beans, but the lettuce transplants around the bean towers look good,  Again, we’ve had some nibbling, but the damage hasn’t been too bad.  I need to find the point of entry, though, and do some nibbling prevention.

The brassicas are looking good.  The Packman broccoli is heading up nicely, and so if the Snow Queen cauliflower.  The heads are small which may be a result of the weird weather, or may be that I crowded the plants too much.  Harvesting the cauliflower will help, as the entire plant will be cut.  I may cut a few broccoli completely out as well, leaving fewer to grow side shoots.  The napa cabbage bolted, so the hens enjoyed that immensely.  The Purple Pac Choi is ready for eating, and the cabbages look great and are beginning to head up.

The allium beds look great.  The garlic is begining to put out scapes, the Candy onions are bulking up, and the French grey shallots look super.  Look for more on the shallots soon.

There’s still more to do.  I still need to replace the red slicing tomato I lost upon planting out, there is space in the hoophouse for more more cukes or tomatoes or something that like the heat but grows quickly.  I also need to get some bush beans planted, and if I can find the space, I’d like to plant enough beets for some pickled beets, too.

I still have a few things left to plant.  I had not so good germination from my leeks, planted way back when?  Dang, I didn’t make a note of when I planted them.  Anyway, what with the kitchen project and the mom project and the finger project, well, it was too late, really.  Still, I have some now, so maybe I’ll try the random empty space approach to planting them….  So much to grow, so little room!

2 Responses to “Mid June garden report”

  1. Sara Says:

    Looking good! Can’t believe you’re getting broccoli already, mine is happy but headless.

    Funny I had problems with squash germinating too, just replanted one zucchini this week, and I can’t remember which pumpkin did not come up, so I think I might just leave it with only one variety this year. I found a bunch of my beets chewed on yesterday too, can’t tell if it’s four legged or six, sigh.

  2. Robin Says:

    Your cauliflower looks good. Mine are starting to get bigger heads now. I have to say that I’ve had quite a time with both my broccoli and cauliflower this year. It must have been our strange spring weather. I’m definitely going to have to sow a fall crop of broccoli in order to have any to freeze. I’m just hoping that I don’t have to sow a fall crop of cauliflower too.

Comments are closed.


