Harvest Monday: More broccoli deliciousness

Broccoli and cauliflower continue to star in this week’s Harvest Monday post, although we are still harvesting gorgeous lettuce and lots of it, plenty to share with friends and Dan’s mom.  We had a nice warm sunny week which ended on Wednesday, folllowed by a rainy stretch where we received over 2 inches of needed rain.  The garden definitely grew, but the temps were cool so not as robustly as I hoped.

In addition to the cool temps, we’ve had more nibbling in the garden.  The peas were hit again, some lettuce, my Swiss chard, and an Orange Suave mild habanero pepper plant was badly chomped, particularly devastating as the poor thing has been shivering in the cold and had just begin to grow.  I’ve made reinforcements to the gate and that seems to have solved the problem.

This morning the sun is out again, so I expect to see things take off.  In the meantime, we’ll be checking out the Farmer’s markets for peas and eating more salads, broccoli and cauliflower, which have liked this weather..

The harvest this past week 2 3/4 lbs of lettuce,  nearly 2 lbs. of broccoli, 3 1/4 lbs of cauliflower, and 1 1/4 lb of purple pac choi.  About 3 oz of herbs also went into salads this past week, bringing the weeks total to 8.65 lbs.  Thus far, the 2011 total stands at 30.98 lbs. valued at $125.04.  I’m still well below my expenses this year at $-258.02 when taking my expenses of $383.06 into consideration.  I’d better pick some more lettuce right quick!

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series on her blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.  Click on over to see what other gardeners are harvesting this week.

15 Responses to “Harvest Monday: More broccoli deliciousness”

  1. kitsapFG Says:

    Broccoli and cauliflower are both good crops to be enjoying a bountiful harvest from. Broccoli is one of my favorite veggies so our spring and fall broccoli harvest season always feels like it ends too soon. Enjoy it while you can!

  2. Allison @ Novice Life Says:

    Nice! Broccoli and Cauliflower are favorites in our home!

  3. Barbie Says:

    Those florests are almost hypnotizing. Really neat looking.

  4. O. Says:

    I finally spied my parsley chomper–not the chipmunks, as I suspected–but a tiny brown bunny.

  5. Karen Anne Says:

    I wonder who chomps on a habanero :-)

    • Ali Says:

      It was the plant, not the fruit. I don’t know if the plant itself has capsaicin in the foliage. I’ll have to look into it. Either way, though, the Suave chiles are mild, not spicy. Or so they say!

  6. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    I too am harvesting great center heads of broccoli but my plants aren’t producing side shoots like they normally do. Are yours?

    • Ali Says:

      My plants are producing side shoots. Broccoli is a heavy feeder, so side dressing and/or a foliar feeding might help spur development of side shoots. I’m planning on a foliar feeding this week with fish emulsion.

      • Jennifer Fisk Says:

        I have put Neptune on them earlier and of course the winter’s bunny doo is in that area. I also have some plants not producing heads at all. I think it is DeCiccio. I always used Packman but Johnny’s didn’t carry it this year. It is the best.

      • Ali Says:

        Jennifer, I grew DeCiccio last year, and didn’t like it. Eventually it did grow side shoots, but they were woody, ugh. I ended up with Packman this spring as I bought some seedlings, but started the rest.
        Check out Cornell U’s Vegetable Varieties for Gardeners, http://vegvariety.cce.cornell.edu/ for some great suggestions on veggie varieties submitted by passionate amateurs.

  7. Daphne Says:

    I had a mediocre broccoli harvest as usual. I need to get a different variety. The ones I’ve been using just don’t produce good heads. Your heads look beautiful.

    • Ali Says:

      These are the ubiquitous Packman. I’ve also got some Blue Wind, Marathon, and Southern Comet planted, and of course some Piracicaba for later in the summer. I liked Blue Wind and Southern Comet last year.

  8. Robin Says:

    That is the most beautiful broccoli! I did not have a good spring broccoli harvest at all this year.

    Hopefully all that munching in your garden will stop now…no more sharing!!

    • Ali Says:

      That’s right, no more sharing! Sorry about your broccoli :-( I think the cool spring saved me, as I planted it considerably later than in past years.

Comments are closed.


