Broccoli bonanza

It has been a good year for broccoli at Henbogle.  The last cool wet summer we had (2009), my poor plants were slug munched almost to death, but this year vigilance and a healthy dose of Sluggo kept things under control and the result is the best broccoli and cauliflower I’ve ever grown (and cabbage, too).

This week the majority of the main heading broccoli was ready.  Yesterday I harvested 4.5 lbs. of broccoli and cauliflower.

I love the Violet Queen cauliflower (far right in pic), and might give it a try one more time, but it doesn’t produce very large heads.  I was pleased with the Snow Crown cauliflower I grew this spring, and am looking forward to Cheddar and Graffiti cauliflower this fall.

We still have lots of plants producing side shoots so I will have more for fresh eating, and I have some more starts to transplant.  Given that, and having just had a big broccoli feed Sunday, I decided to blanch and freeze this batch.  I gave it all a quick 3 minute blanch then into the freezer it went.  Yum.

 

3 Responses to “Broccoli bonanza”

  1. Laurie Graves Says:

    Along with tasting great, they also look so pretty side by side. It’s been a good year for gardens.

  2. Robin Says:

    I am so happy to see that someone is having good broccoli and cauliflower. It has been my worst year ever for them. The cabbage is doing fine though…go figure.

    I just admire your crops and hope that our fall planting will do better!

  3. Daphne Says:

    I only wish I’d get that much all at once. I’m quite capable of eating any broccoli that comes out quickly enough.

Comments are closed.


