First cukes!

Today’s haul from the garden included my first 3 cukes of the season, from the hoophouse.  YUM!!!  I also picked my second batch of sugar snap peas, and the last of the Violet Queen cauliflower, which looks more like broccoli.

These yummy vegetables will be loaded into a cooler for a trip downeast to Cobscook Bay State Park, and consumed by the water at our campsite.  Dan and I will be camping for the next week, while Mom looks after the house, garden, hens and pets.

It is such a relief to know Henbogle is in good hands while we are away.  It will make it so much easier to enjoy everything.

 

 

 

Whiting Bay

10 Responses to “First cukes!”

  1. emily Says:

    Enjoy your week!

  2. Robin Says:

    Enjoy your vacation at the lake!

  3. kitsapFG Says:

    First cukes and first tomatoes are definitely a celebration event. Enjoy the time by the lake… sounds wonderful!

  4. Brandi Mills Says:

    Enjoy Cobscook. It’s our favorite camping grounds too!

  5. Julie Says:

    Ali, you and Dan produce some of the most amazing gardens, whether it be vegetable or flower they flourish nicely. Have a wonderful vacation, Cobscook, in my opinion is one of the prettiest places on God’s green earth! How wonderful for you to have a built in house sitter, I’m sure Henbogle is in good hands!

  6. nruit Says:

    Beautiful! They look delicious. We didn’t plant cukes this year so I am depending on the farmers’ market for mine!

  7. Daphne Says:

    Yay for cukes. I wish I were getting enough to make pickles right now, but no such luck.

  8. emily Says:

    P.S. When you get back from vacation, do you mind updating my link on your blogroll to my new site? It’s http://www.greensandjeans.com.

    Hope you had a great week!

  9. garden girl Says:

    hi

  10. wf Says:

    Nice cukes! I would wait on the garlic. Did you know you can make a great chutney with the leaves…goes amazing with fish. I have a recipe here

    http://weekendfarmer.blogspot.com/2010/07/i-am-alive.html#links

    I miss Maine…I wish I could be there at one of the lobster pounds in Bar Habor. Did you hit 100 yet?

Comments are closed.


