Harvest Monday: Cukes, blueberries and yet more broccoli

Even with being away, and the heatwave we had a good harvest week at Henbogle.  While Mom did an excellent job caring for Henbogle house coop and garden, sh did miss the ripening cucumbers, so we had a HUGE cuke harvest at 8 3/4 lbs. Not to worry, though, they are disappearing fast as plain cukes sprinkled with salt, in souped up tabouli salad, sliced cukes in sour cream & herb dressing, etc.

The blueberries were also reaching their peak harvest.  Last night, Dan and I picked over 4 lbs of blueberries; added to what I picked earlier in the day, and Mom last week and that’s a whopping 7 lbs. of blueberries for the week.

Amazingly, the broccoli side shoots produced another bumper picking.  Yesterday morning I picked 19 delicious ounces; add that to Mom’s earlier 6 oz. and we had 1 lb. 9 oz. of broccoli last week, tasty and delicious despite the heat.  I blanched some and served it for lunch and it was a treat.

We had a few other harvests of this and that.  Mom picked another 2 1/2 lbs. of snap peas this week, she gave some away and some are awaiting pickling in the fridge.  We picked another pound of lettuce this week, some went home with Mom, the rest will be enjoyed here as it is still sweet and tender under the shade cloth, and a few herbs (3 oz.) to use in this and that.  We also pulled 3 garlic plants, ostensibly to check the size on the first two, but we enjoyed it so much while camping we pulled another head to enjoy Saturday.  YUM!!!

And finally, I dug our first potatoes to enjoy for dinner last night (and enjoy them we did!).  I dug one plant of Red Norlands which yielded 1 lb. 9 oz. of tubers.

This brings us to 22 lbs. of home grown veggies picked this week, for a total of 77.74lbs for the year valued at $306.04  My garden expenses remain steady at 386.06, leaving me still in the red by $-77.02.  So close, but yet so far….

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series, where you can see what delicious treats gardeners across the globe are harvesting from their gardens.  Check it out on her blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.

8 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Cukes, blueberries and yet more broccoli”

  1. Allison @ Novice Life Says:

    Wow great harvest! I am jealous of all those blueberries :)

  2. Diana Says:

    Nice harvest. Wish we have some fresh cucumber too. But alas we are in peak winter at the moment.

  3. kitsapfg Says:

    Your blueberries are really producing well for you. What variety do you grow and how many bushes?

    Your garden bounty was unstopped by the heat wave!

    • Ali Says:

      Laura,

      I have a variety of varieties: 2 Patriot, which are a Maine bred highbush/lowbush cross, and 2 Blueray, 2 Bluecrop,2 Elliott, 2 Earliblue, and 2 Jersey, all highbush. I am not 100% certain of one of the Jerseys as it was planted by the previous regime, but I am pretty sure, they are Jersey.

      My favorites are the Blueray and Jersey. I am hoping to find a couple of Hardyblue and Bluejay plants to add to the plants when I move them this fall.

      A useful website for varietal research is http://www.fallcreeknursery.com, a commercial grower with a very informative website.

  4. Shawn Ann Says:

    Wow, beautiful blueberries. I can’t wait until my plants give me yields like that!

  5. Robin Says:

    Those blueberries are beautiful! Boy your side shoots from the broccoli are bigger then all of my spring heads combined!

  6. Julie Says:

    Simply gorgeous blueberries! Your harvest is unbelievable Ali, You and Dan definitely have green thumbs!

  7. Sherry Says:

    Wonderful harvest! Very jealous of all those blueberries. How old are your plants? I heard they are more productive when they get older. Our blueberry plants are still young and produce small amounts of berries.

Comments are closed.


