Rain

It had been really dry here, so Monday we dragged out the sprinkler and began watering.  We emptied the one rain barrel we had set up, and continued watering from the tap.  Sure enough, that brought the rain!

We got a bit over 3/4 of an inch of rain between Monday night and this morning.  Overnight the lawn greened up and grew (dang) and the flower beds all look perkier.  Our rain barrels (we set up another one) are now full to the brim again.

I’ll still need to water some the of the crops under IRT plastic mulch, but I am so happy to have rain.  Now if we could have an 1/2 inch or so more in the next couple of days….

4 Responses to “Rain”

  1. Sara Says:

    I did the same thing yesterday, watered a few things as there was only a 20-40% chance of rain, woke up to a big storm that dropped almost an inch!

    We’ve been really dry too, and a lot of rain has just missed us, which is frustrating. Glad we are finally getting a soaking. Hope you get a little more too! It sure makes things take off–especially the grass, ha.

  2. Jean Says:

    I’m envious of your 3/4″ of rain; we didn’t get that much here. Despite the rain on Monday night and some watering I have done, my plants are still looking thirsty. Here’s hoping for more rain in the next couple of days.

    • Ali Says:

      Jean, we are getting some rain tonight, I hope you do as well. We still need it, there are lots of crispy looking plants in the gardens. I suspect this will mean firing up the lawn mower, though!

  3. Daphne Says:

    We got less than a quarter inch in that storm. I’m hoping the one going through today gives us a lot, but I’ll be ready to water tomorrow if not.

Comments are closed.


