Sage advice

If you haven’t been using the sage you grow in your garden, it is time.  Purchase some butter, yes real butter.  Since you are at the market, you might as well pick up some fresh pasta, too. Then, make Sage Butter Sauce with Parmesan for dinner.  Trust me, you will not regret it.

The other day, we had some friends come for a visit and dinner, so I decided it was time to use up some sage.  I made the pasta, but also experimented with another way to use sage — Chicken with Sage, Prosciutto and Parmesan.

I pounded some chicken breasts flat, then trimmed them into uniform pieces.  I sprinkled freshly ground black pepper and some Smoked Sea Salt on the chicken, then layered prosciutto, sage leaves and shaved parmesan.

I had hoped to roll them, but didn’t get the chicken thin enough so I folded them, brushed them sparingly with oil and cooked it on the grill.  I served it with the pasta and fresh garden veggies and it was divine.  I am looking forward to trying that again very soon.  Fortunately, I have more company coming for a visit this week.  My former student Ellen, now a college graduate, is coming to Maine for a job interview.  I am thinking we might have to try this dish again while she is visiting.  And of course have some lobster, too!  And ps, send some good vibes to Ellen for her interview!

One Response to “Sage advice”

  1. Sara Says:

    That looks really yummy!

Comments are closed.


