Early August garden report, part 2

A bird in the bush is worth….

The tomatoes  stand witness to my tomato gluttony and absolute inability to cull a seedling.  I planted them 2 per cage, but placed the cages WAY too close together, i.e. touching.  The plants now desperately need pruning to give the peppers planted at their feet some breathing room and light.  That lovely rain, however, has delayed pruning as I am seeing some signs of fungal disease and I don’t want to spread it among the wet leaves.  The problem is exacerbated by my decision to plant the pole beans across the narrow pathway from the tomatoes (see photo on right).  All I can say is it seemed like a good idea at the time!

Once things dried off enough that felt like I could prune, however, I discovered my feathered friend, busily constructing a home for the family.  I don’t want to disturb her more than necessary, so I will limit my pruning to the plants further away.  Of course, I started writing this post Tuesday, but have yet to get to it, as it has proved to be good painting weather, and we are painting fools.

Nonetheless, with some good hot weather (it has been clear, but not hot — perfect for painting, but cool nights are not great for tomatoes) I think we will be awash in tomatoes, my counter will look like Daphne’s.  I sure hope so.  If the cool rainy weather returns, well, I think we may end up battling fungal diseases.

I am beginning to see signs of hope.  The Sungold Cherry tomatoes are ripening and beginning to pick up speed. Let’s hope they are a sign of things to come.

I have begun fall plantings.  I have more onions, leeks and a patch of kale and broccoli in the former garlic bed, and Wednesday sowed a small patch of Cylindra beets for pickles, and some Napoli carrots.  I hope to get more carrots planted in the hoophouse soon, I have some Little Fingers and more Napoli seeds for that purpose.  I have another empty spot where the onions were, and think I will plant some scallions and cilantro there (in hopes of salsa).  I need to find more space for a few more beets and some fall salad veggies such as salad turnips, radicchio, radishes, escarole, spinach, etc.

Dan has done a lot of weeding, and I cut back some of the self-sowing calendula flowers that were taking over.

Another harvest I haven’t blogged much about is our hops.  Last fall, we harvested the hops in early September, dried them thoroughly on screens in the barn attic, then popped them in the freezer for future use in some home brewed beer.

Well, finally, that day came this week when Dan brewed up a batch of Blackberry Wheat Beer, flavored with blackberries from the garden and our very own hops.  This year’s crop of hops is doing well on the hop swing, and I hope we will be using that harvest, too.  I need to do some research on the value of hops and then taste that beer now bubbling away in the fermenter.

There’s always something in the works here at Henbogle.  Let’s hop the latest project is delicious. I will report out in mid-late September.

5 Responses to “Early August garden report, part 2”

  1. Daphne Says:

    I hope you get your tomatoes soon. I planted more cilantro too. I did it as I harvested the coriander for the year. So easy.

  2. Sara Says:

    This makes me feel better about having baby bunnies in the middle of my garden :)

  3. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    I too can’t kill a seedling. My paste tomatoes were tipping their cages and I had to pound stakes inside of them to keep them upright.
    If blight is becoming a problem get some Green Cure. I’ve found this effective against early and late blight plus powdery mildu

  4. Robin Says:

    I LOVE how you have those hop plants growing. That is so pretty.

Comments are closed.


