Harvest Monday: Tomatoes at last

At last, the tomatoes are ripening here at Henbogle.  I was beginning to worry that it wouldn’t happen before blight or hail or something would get them!

This week was a big harvest week, with the above mentioned tomatoes, 4 lbs. of them not including the cluster of green Cherokee Purple ‘maters that I broke in attempting to harvest the first ripe one.  We also harvest 8 lbs of bush and pole beans, a mix of Purple Trionfo and Fortex pole beans and Royal Burgundy bush beans.

Sunday Dan picked the last of the highbush blueberries, 1 lb. 10 oz. making for a total of a little over 20 lbs this year, pretty good considering the earliest of the berries were scarce due to poor pollination during a cold wet spring.

Not seen are the 9 oz. of broccoli shoots,  cucumbers we continue to haul in by the pound (over 6 lbs. this week) or all the summer squash, which slowed a bit at 2.5 lbs.  Not a problem, really, as this week was a busy one preparing for back to school.  I also got around to trimming and weighing my onion harvest this week, which came in at 13.5 pounds for the season.  It was probably a bit more but there were a few onions that didn’t make the scale before they were used.

All told, the harvest this week came in at over 34 lbs.  A nice harvest, but nowhere near my 118 lb. record harvest of the same week last year.  It is just as well consider my broken toe is slowing me down, and the bushel of peaches I ordered to make peach salsa is here.  Today’s project will be making some jam and freezing the remaining peaches for salsa and winter use.  I’d better got moving!

This weeks harvests bring the total weight of harvests this year to over 166 lbs. valued at $600.32.  Subtracting my expenses of $383.06, that brings the total value of harvests this year  $217.26. Good, but a far cry from last year at this time when I had harvested 372.31 pounds of veggies valued at $856.66.  What a difference a year makes!

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series, where gardeners share the goodies they are eating and harvesting.  Check it out on her blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.

12 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Tomatoes at last”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Very interesting the difference between this year and last. Really illustrates how valuable record keeping is. In my own little gardens, it has been a good year for Rosemary and sage but a terrible one for basil and parsley. The cucumbers and tomatoes? Pretty good.

  2. Liz - Suburban Tomato Says:

    I think its so interesting how harvests vary from year to year. What do you think has made the difference? Beautiful harvest though

  3. kitsapfg Says:

    Congratulations on the arrival of the ripe tomatoes! I am glad to hear someone else knocks a few green ones off occassionally when harvesting the ripe ones. Love the blueberries. It sounds like you got a good harvest from your blueberry bushes this year in total.

    • Ali Says:

      Knocking those tomatoes off hurt me deep.

      we harvested about 3 lbs. more blueberries this year, which is pretty good considering some bushes did not bear well at all. I think the heavy layer of straw mulch we have helped a lot as the weather was so dry through early summer.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Nice harvest. What zone on you in? I noticed your fall frost date is quite late. I am zone 4 and the frost dates start next week with a 10% chance. Boy I sure hope not as very little it ready in my garden. Would love to make it into October but think that might be dreaming.

  5. Allison Says:

    Wow great harvest! I would love to have all those blueberries!

  6. Tasty Travels Says:

    Congratulations on your first ‘matos! I’m still waiting on my slicers. Only cherry and ultra early tomatoes thus far (haha).

  7. Barbie Says:

    Those powderblues have me a hankering. Guess it’s time to visit the freezer for some of my own. We didn’t get nearly 20 pounds! Your harvest looks wonderful.

  8. Julie Says:

    Allie, I do hope that poor little piggy of your’s is feeling better, OUCH! I must say you and Dan create the most amazing gardens, I am so impressed with your bounty. My once green thumb seems to have turned brown! BTW, how are your “girls”? I have the most darling little banty rooster, however, my girls are not thrilled with his manliness. Hope you are enjoying this weather, as you may have read I am ready for Fall! Blessings, Julie.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    What a beautiful and varied harvest. I’m glad your tomatoes finally started coming in. And sad to hear that you broke your toe. I did that last winter, which is a much better time for it.

  10. Ben Czajkowski Says:

    Wow, I am sorry that you are so far off course this year, in terms of cost and output :( It’s been a rough year for so many people, gardenwise. Mother Nature sure is crabby…

    But over 20 lbs this year, of BBs. I definitely cannot feel sorry for you there :)

Comments are closed.


