Weird broccoli

Something is amiss in the broccoli department.  My fall broccoli has bolted.  I think this is the Waltham 29, which supposedly matures in 92 days.

Unfortunately, it did not like the weather or watering conditions, and bolted.  I cut it today and will give it a try for dinner soon.  The Piricicaba and Packman are still going great guns with side shoots.  I need to give them a foliar feeding again soon.

5 Responses to “Weird broccoli”

  1. GrafixMuse Says:

    It has been so hot and humid lately that I have hesitated to plant out my broccoli. Much cooler this week, but with Irene coming up the coast, we will be in for some windy and wet weather soon. I may never get my fall plants in the ground.

    I hope the bolted broccoli at least tastes good.

  2. Robin Says:

    That may be some weird broccoli…but, I think that your side shoots are more then I harvested from my entire spring crop this year!

  3. Julie Says:

    Broccoli, what broccoli, I have no broccoli, what is up with this growing season? I am happy you have broccoli, weird looking and all!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Just cut the bolts off and you may get side shoots. I have broccoli that looks just like yours. Cool eh!

  5. kitsapfg Says:

    Still edible and you may get some decent side shoot production out of them yet. Our weather has been so cool that the broccoli is one of the few crops that really excelled this year – but hardly anything else really did all that well.

Comments are closed.


