Backyard drama: Snake vs. Toad

In the midst of scurrying about preparing for Hurricane Irene this afternoon, Dan and I were startled by a large garter snake crossing the back lawn.  A few minutes later, I saw a toad hopping oddly near the maple tree and went t look.  I called for Dan, and we arrived just as a large garter snake got the toad by one of its back legs.

It was very cool to see, and a vivid reminder that nature is cruel.  That poor toad was alive for at least 90% of the ordeal, and maybe all, and it took at about 70+ minutes.  The first photo I took was at 2:35, the last at 3:38.  Photos are in the album below, don’t look if you are squeamish.  I also shot a lot of video and will try and upload some of that later.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Responses to “Backyard drama: Snake vs. Toad”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I saw that happen once in my garden ages and ages ago. I love my toads and I wasn’t very pleased with the snake for eating one.

  2. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    At least you didn’t try to save your toad like some people might do. Snake needs to eat too.

  3. Julie Says:

    Oh my word, and I just finished dinner. That was quite a sight, big snake…. poor toad. I must admit I was spellbound when I witnessed Gladys eating a live mouse. First I could not believe what I was seeing, a couple of gulps, the tail was hanging out of her beak and then the mouse was gone! Nope… don’t want to see that again. Hugs, Julie. Stay safe!

  4. S Says:

    Wow! I’m glad I’m not the only person who documents such things! :) I sent my family a photo of a parasite covered tomato worm, and it didn’t go over well! It was really cool though, ha ha.

    Have your chickens every caught a toad? Mine have–it’s not pretty and of course if you try to intervene they run madly through the yard. Usually they drop them eventually as they are too hard to eat!

Comments are closed.


