Seeing stars

Years ago, I went on a minor rant about form follows function, form being colanders than don’t drain well.  I was trying to replace an old classic aluminum colander which was not supposed to go in the dishwasher, but had, and was thus corroding.

Long story short, independently of one another my sisters-in-law came to my rescue, and a while later two very different yet highly functional new colanders showed up at my door.  Both are excellent, one is shiny stainless that hangs on the pot rack, the other is stored near the sink ready to use its adjustable handles to drain over the sink from the rim.  Life was good.

Still, I had hung on to my mother’s old colander, as a memento, and attempted to clean it as per Martha’s instructions, which worked pretty well.  I just loved the memories and that pretty star pattern.

Yesterday, Dan made my day when at an estate sale, he found my colander’s big sister.  I love him.

You can bet I’ll keep this one out of the dishwasher.  If I could find 3 identical small ones, I would use them to make pendant lights, wouldn’t that be cool over the kitchen counter?  Someday, maybe….

 

4 Responses to “Seeing stars”

  1. Robin Says:

    Oh, lights would be so cool! I have to say that both of my big stainless colanders don’t drain well and it drives me crazy! I end up using one of the old big plastic cheap ones.

  2. Lisa and Robb Says:

    How delightful! We’ve been very fortunate at estate sales. Love that vintage cookware.

    • Ali Says:

      I LOVE estate sales. Most of the furniture in our house is vintage and acquired via estate or yard sales, country auctions, or the families’ attics. I love it, most of it is better made than anything new I could afford!

  3. Julie Says:

    What a great idea Allie, I’ll keep my eye on the lookout for you. Hope you and Dan are enjoying these last few weeks of summer. Blessings, Julie.

Comments are closed.


