Harvest Monday: Melons from heaven

Despite the cool spring weather, July’s blossom killing heat wave, and Irene’s best efforts, we harvested a whopping 31.75 lbs. of tomatoes last week, not quite up to our largest harvest last year of 36.5 lbs. of tomatoes the week ending 8/22.  My nearly 2 lb. Pineapple beauty was the star of the harvest, but the rest look darn good to my tomato starved eyes.  I’ve got one batch of roasted tomato sauce and one batch of Annie’s Salsa in process, and there will be more roasted tomato sauce to come.  I’m also hoping to make a batch of Annie’s Peach Twist Salsa with some of the peaches I froze a few weeks ago.

The other star of my harvest this week are the 2 Halona melons I harvested.  The first one was slightly smaller at 1 1 lb. 10 oz., the second broke the 2 pound mark at 2 lbs. 3 oz.  Melon number 2 will be enjoyed for a late breakfast shortly, yum.

With Irene’s damage to our pole and bush beans, I had a large bean harvest this week as well at 2.5 lbs.  I pulled all the Royal Burgundy bush beans and picked any good beans from the pole beans, and blanched and froze what we didn’t enjoy fresh.  Even the big tough beans work in soup, which is mainly how I use frozen green beans during the rest of the year.  I may make one more batch of dilly beans, but my dill was flattened too, so I’ll need to buy some dill to do that, sigh.

I haven’t harvested our carrots yet, but the one I pulled to take a look this week has a long deep split, sigh.  According to my research, this is caused by inconsistent moisture, something that can happen when you suddenly get 2.5 inches of rain I guess.  The carrot I pulled was near the edge of the raised bed.  I will have to cross my fingers and hope the ones closer to the center, which are less subject to drying out, did not split.

Still, it was a good harvest week.  In all we harvested 39.4 lbs. of delicious veggies for a yearly total of 242.6 lb.s valued at $856.32.  Less my expenses, unchanged at $383.06, the value of my garden harvest this year comes in at $476.26.  This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series published on her blog Daphne’s Dandelions.  Check it out and see who’s eating what across the land.

11 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Melons from heaven”

  1. Bee Girl Says:

    What a wonderful harvest! I am completely jealous of your melons!!!

  2. kitsapfg Says:

    I am totally jealous of the beautiful tomato harvest. My tomatoes are ripening but coming along in small amounts at any given time (3 lbs at most on any given harvest). I feel lucky getting any at all with our super cool summer, but it sure would be nice to have enough to do something with for canning.

    Love your two star colanders! Just read your prior post about how you acquired the sister to your existing one.

    • Ali Says:

      Believe me, I feel your pain. I am still scarred from the great tomato famine of 2009, when the early arrival of Late Blight killed almost all the tomato plants in Maine.

  3. Jody Says:

    You have had a very good week. I love the cantaloupe. Delicious! And you’ve made almost 500 bucks this year! Congrats. How many people get to make a little money while doing what they love. How, by the way, do you tally the value of your produce. Belle and I have been talking about our own harvest and trying to figure this out

  4. Emily Says:

    I harvested my first carrot this evening to add to a fresh tomato soup. It had 5 ‘legs’. I wonder if my other will be that weird. I hope that the rest of yours don’t have splits.

  5. Emily Says:

    P.S. Thanks for the link to the Annie’s Peach Salsa. We found Annie’s salsa last year either through you or Annie’s Granny. I made 2 double batches and we loved it. So far I’ve only made one double batch this year, and don’t know if I’ll have enough tomatoes for another. Peach Salsa from that recipe sounds great!

    • Ali Says:

      I hope to try the peach salsa soon, my regular batch came out great! The weather has been cool and wet, I’m hoping we get some more warm weather for more tomatoes, you too!

  6. Rick Says:

    Your melons look awesome. We are really struggling this year with melons, especially cantaloupe so I’m glad to see someone with some ripe fruit. Thanks for a great blog, I have really enjoyed reading it since I found you about a year ago.

    • Ali Says:

      Hi Rick,
      Thanks for saying hello! This is really the first time I’ve been successful with melons, and I’m sure I would not have been but for the IRT mulch and my hoophouse. Better luck next year with the melons!

Comments are closed.


