Weird tomato problem

I’ve been roasting up a storm here at Henbogle, but in a few of my tomatoes, I’ve encountered a strange phenomena.  The tomato looks unblemished on the outside, but on the inside, in the seed cavity, there is a dark lesion, almost like a scar, it is hard and dry, not at all like mold.  The tomato tastes fine.

Thus far I have only seen it in my paste tomatoes, the Amish Paste, Striped Roman and Orange Bananas.  It doesn’t seem to be impacting my yield, and I haven’t noticed any significant loss of fruit — although we lost some which I was attributing to winds and rain from Irene.

I am wondering what this might be, has anyone seen this before or have any suggestions?  I read somewhere it might be blossom end rot, but can’t verify that.  We certainly have had some uneven moisture of late, so that could be the case despite the plastic mulch.  I’ll be asking my Master Gardening pals,  and will report back any definitive answer I receive from there, but I’d love to hear from my blogger cronies with your ideas.

8 Responses to “Weird tomato problem”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I’ll be interested to hear the answer. I haven’t had any problem with my little Juliets, which I roast with great success. Do you freeze sauce that you’ve roasted? I’ve never had enough to freeze, but I imagine roasted sauce would freeze beautifully.

  2. O. Says:

    I’ve had this before, but I don’t know what it is.

  3. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    I’m experiencing the same phenomena in some of my San Marzano tomatoes. I suspect there was some sort of weather anomaly during the blossom fertilization stage that caused this since it doesn’t seem to have affected that many fruits.
    I too have been roasting up a storm and have two trays in the oven right now. Won’t they taste great during a January snowstorm?

  4. kitsapfg Says:

    Never experienced this one before but it seems similar to hollow heart and rot in potatoes – which is a uneven moisture issue so it seems possible that is the cause of this tomato problem too. Will be interested to learn more about what your master gardener friends come back with.

  5. S Says:

    I’ve had that in San Marzanos too, and Speckled Romans. I guess it could be a similar issue as blossom rot, only on the interior? I too cut them out, and just move on, but I’d be interested to know what’s up. I’ll scope out my MG info for WI and see if they mention it.

  6. Julie Says:

    Ali, I had become aware of this issue while listing to a local garden radio program. There was a suggested product to rectify this problem. At the beginning of the growing season I searched high and low. however, I was unable to locate it. Many of the local greenhouses and nurseries had not heard of this product. Now the bad news is I can no longer recall what the product was called. Please forgive my menopausal brain, with a little luck it may come to me. Smiles, Julie.

  7. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    Julie, was the product Green Cure?

  8. jenny Says:

    it’s called “blackheart disease” and caused by lack of calcium in soil and variation of water levels when fruit forms. Keep feeding it early and every two weeks to avoid this in the future. good luck!

Comments are closed.


