Canning chaos

Annie’s Salsa and roasted tomato sauce in process, with more tomatoes awaiting attention.

I love my tomatoes, but I wish I could get them to ripen before I return to work in the fall, especially since by the time I’m done with the tomatoes, it’s grape season, and by the time I’m done with that, I need a firehose to clean my kitchen.  Sigh.  At least the eating is good!

6 Responses to “Canning chaos”

  1. kitsapfg Says:

    It does seem like everything hits at once – usually in late August and all of September for me. Your kitchen is “organized” chaos. :D

  2. Robin Says:

    Every year we can’t wait for the canning to begin and can’t wait for it to end! I have stuff everywhere…even under the kitchen table! It’s always nice to have a clean and organized kitchen again!

  3. S Says:

    Ha, I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s kitchen looks like a bomb went off at times. Isn’t it nice to have such a lovely spruced-up space to work though? I know you are loving your sink!!

    I do try to wash up as I go (while things are in the canner, mostly) and I have a shelf set up in my spare room (office/sewing room in the wintertime) for overflow. So I stash jars and canning pots (and sometimes tomatoes, sigh) in there which makes my kitchen a *teeny* bit more peaceful. My toms are waning a bit, and I’m kind of glad because I can keep up with them, at least at the moment!

  4. Sande Says:

    Oh yes, I recognize that kitchen. I too am always glad when it’s done and the kitchen is empty of jars and canning kettles.

  5. Jean Says:

    Really, tomato canning season and the beginning of the school year are not well synchronized at all! One of the things I’m really looking forward to when I retire in a couple of years is time to preserve food without feeling frantic in the fall.

  6. Robin Says:

    Your kitchen looks really nice for being in the middle of canning. I’ve done so many loads of dishes these past three days that I’m surprised my fingers aren’t shriveled permanently.

Comments are closed.


