Harvest Monday: It’s all about the tomatoes

This week we harvested another delicious melon, a lonely cuke, a couple of squash, and 28 1/2 pounds of tomatoes.  Holy cats!

All those tomatoes became roasted tomato sauce and salsa, as documented in my earlier post.  I processed a full canner load of 14 pints, and have more in the fridge awaiting processing tonight.  That’s sauce on the top, a big container of salsa below, and more sauce next to the salsa.

There’s no rest for the wicked.  Still, I am certain we will appreciate it this winter, and it is very satisfying, if slightly exhausting!

This weeks harvest came in at a bit over 34 lbs. for a yearly total of 276.9 lbs. valued at $972.68.  Less my expenses, unchanged at $383.06, the value of my garden harvest this year comes in at $589.62.  See what other weary gardeners are harvesting, canning and freezing on Daphne’s Harvest Monday series published on her blog Daphne’s Dandelions. Maybe some people are finding time to actually eat their harvests!

PS>  That beer is some that Dan brewed.  We have another batch which will soon be ready that used our own hops and blackberries.

9 Responses to “Harvest Monday: It’s all about the tomatoes”

  1. Liz - Suburban Tomato Says:

    You will, you will – appreciate it in winter that is – I know because we’ve just had our winter and I would have definitely have appreciated that beautiful looking sauce.

  2. kitsapfg Says:

    Processing tomatoes is such a messy affair, but of all the canned items we do – it is the most appreciated and used. Your garden totals for the year are excellent – how do they compare to your prior year?

    • Ali Says:

      Laura, Last years garden was much more productive. I grew over 600 lbs. compared to my current total of 276 lbs. I still have a great deal to harvest, including all my potatoes, but last year was exceptional, and I was better organized when it came to succession planting for winter in the hoophouse. I need to get my act together and get some more planted!

  3. Robin Says:

    Oh you are definitely going to appreciate all your hard work this winter! My tomatoes are coming to an end…..but, it doesn’t seem like all the canning is!

  4. GrafixMuse Says:

    It was all about tomatoes at my home this weekend as well. I was so busy that I didn’t get my Harvest Monday post up yet.

    Remember when you were waiting for that first ripe tomato?

  5. Emily Says:

    All your tomatoes look lovely!

  6. Julie Says:

    Canning gives one such a sense of satisfaction, especially when the snow flies. Smiles, Julie.

  7. Amanda Fisher Says:

    I am intrigued about your mention of refrigerating to-be-canned stuff overnight. How does that work? Do you re-heat before the canning, or just add time to the canning process?

Comments are closed.


